The Avatar of Arthur - Process

in #art7 years ago (edited)

avatarrectangle.jpg

Hi everyone, I've recently posted my Introduce Yourself Post and there I shared my avatar, which I used as my profile picture here. I'd like to show you how I made the drawing itself and how I edited it with Photoshop by showing you the steps and the GIF image I made.

Here are the 2 drawings I used as reference, they were from the book of "The Manual of Aeronautics":

reference.jpg


Here is the Step-by-step process of how I created my avatar:

1.jpg

I started off with a sketch of the image I want to use. I didn't really use a pencil for this one and just straight off drew everything with pen. Just because I don't have any pencils at all. I forgot to buy one.

2.jpg

After photographic my sketch, I opened it in Photoshop for editing and coloring. On this step, I used a few filters in Photoshop. Mostly, it became like this because of the Cutouts filter. Because I used a flash on my original photograph, after using the filter it created a gradient of 3 colors that I had to remove by simply filling in everything with the lightest color of the background.

3.jpg

I used the Magic Wand Tool to capture the area for his hair and did a bit of adjustments using the Refine Edges feature of it. I opened a new layer, named it 'Hair' and started filling it in with a shade of brown.

4.jpg

I did the same thing with the skin on his face. Afterwards, I added a layer effect called Multiply to balance out the colors. I also painted over a few things that are lighter and darker and also used the Burn Tool to further add shadows into his skin and facial features.

5.jpg

I added details into his eyes by making the surrounding white, the irises brown and blackening the pupils too. Balanced it out with a few touch ups with the Burn and Dodge Tools.

6.jpg

Then, I started filling in the darkest parts of his clothes. I used a dark but faded Navy Blue color for the shadows under his coat and for the ones on his neck.

7.jpg

I filled in his uniform a shade of blue (looks like faded denim to me). Made sure it's not too bright by using a layer effect again, this time it's Darken.

8.jpg

Next, I filled in his coat the exact same way with his hair and the shadows on his clothes. The layer effect I used here was Color Overlay, the lighter parts of the coat were incidental but I decided to keep it because it adds more sophistication into it rather than having everything in one solid color.

9.jpg

I finished coloring it by adding the gold accents on some parts like the sash, the buttons, and the pins on his uniform.

10.jpg

I added more contrast and decreased the brightness a bit on the original image that is still under all these layers of colors. It made my outlines more emphasized and distinguishable.


Animated Process:

GIF.gif

Lastly, I added one layer of adjusted Curves to balance out the colors on the whole image, I manually set the curves for RGB collectively and separately. I then made a GIF out of it. If you did notice though, the step-by-step on the photos doesn't actually matched the steps on the GIF image. I realized it only after saving the individual images that arranging the coloring process from painting the clothes and hair then face will be much better if I did it hair then face then clothes. Just my personal preference.

That's it! That is how I created my Avatar for @artofsteempunk by fusing 2 separate images through drawing, some editing in Photoshop, and years of practice too.

thanks.png


All images original, edited or photographed by @artofsteempunk.

Sort:  

Woooww! Great work!
I'm a graphic designer too! I will see your posts for sure!

Followed and upvoted!
;

Thank you so much! I actually need more practice. I think I'm rusty my gears are clanking loudly.

No no no! You are great! Go ahead!!

Congratulations @artofsteempunk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love the creativity! best wishes.

Congratulations @artofsteempunk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Amazing Art work!! you are really talented

you are so PRO! :D well done! following u!

Not really, thanks though! :D

this is great work! keep it up
yw :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63390.92
ETH 3093.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82