Shuri (Black Panther)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

shuri.png

Hey Steemers. Went and saw Black Panther yesterday and I liked it a lot. It inspired me to draw my favorite character from the movie; Shuri, the sister to T'Challa (the Black Panther). She was uber positive, cute, smart, and funny. I use Clip Studio Paint on the iPad Pro. Clip Studio has become my favorite tool on the iPad and I recommend it to anyone that enjoys drawing comics or just doing lined 2d art. It's ink and watercolor brushes are fantastic. I started my piece with my usual process. I sketch the basic image in non photo blue or red pencil, in this case it's the latter.

shuri1.png

After everything is solid proportionally, I sketch out the details, add ornamentation, and make sure everything works and there is no guesswork for the final inks. For this drawing my main issue was getting the likeness of Letetia Wright (Shuri) correct or at least as close as I could get in a comic style. I think I managed to pull it off... barely haha. I start the inks on this sketch template using my custom ink brushes.

shuri2.png

After the inks are done, I change the white background to a gray and start adding flat colors for the skin tone and outfit. I eventually merge each flat color layer into one layer with all the flats so I can start adding shadow on a new clip layer set to multiply. Once the shadows are basically to my liking I add a new highlight clipping layer to start adding highlights and light points. This simple shadow and light process really makes things "pop". The light and shadow doesn't have to be too elaborate it just has to look like it makes sense visually. The last things I do are adding a gradient background and using the circular ruler to create a color dodged tweed pattern. This simple pattern adds a bit of a graphic design element and a complimentary nod to the high tech and ancient tech of Wakanda.

shuri3.png

Thanks for taking the time to look - you guys and gals are awesome. - Wayne

Sort:  

Wow....really nice...saw black panther too...was really awesome..im into art too just like you...please can you view and upvote my blog

Got a few upvotes. Thanks for the kind words about my art.

Black Panther was terrific. Shuri was incredible and your picture of her is also very lovely.

Thank you 🙂

I saw Black Panther last weekend. I was actually really surprised how good it was! I also liked the technology scientist Shuri :)

And your image of Shuri is beautiful!

Thank you. I’m gonna see it again today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45