Abe Sapien vs The Frogs Process Video

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit!

I just posted a new Ramble, err... PROCESS video where I attempt to explain a bit about my painting method. This painting was illustrated in Procreate on the iPad Pro with the Apple Pencil. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot. I missed a lot of detailed explanation in the video, but I will go over my process a bit more here (Below the video).

I mentioned in the video that I start all my paintings with a sketch. Sometimes after I do an initial sketch I go straight to painting. However, I discovered that doing more detailed linework helps me have a tighter painting. The tighter lines also give me a better blueprint that eliminates guess work and flub painting (basically hidding details in a painterly fashion). Here are the rough lines:

1.jpg

and the here are the finished tight lines. I fixed positions and dialed up the anatomy. It will allow me to basically fill in the lines coloring book style haha 😊

2.png

After the lines are done, I grayscale the background and create new layers of solid/fill darker gray layers just below the line layers (I seperated the lines of each character in the image to their own layer). I gray the background because colors on a white background can sometimes be too dark and or too contrasted.

Abe_vs_The_Frogs 1.png

I achieve 90% of the color (after, I add the grays, shadows, lighting, etc), with the color balance filter, as well as the hue/saturation filter in Procreate. I get a general base color using those two filters and add the color variations via layers using the blending modes such as "Overlay", "Colorize", and "Color Dodge/Burn". After I get the colors and details that I like, I then add an Overlay of "Grain" using the grain filter setting the grain on a layer filled with gray and set the opacity to about 15 percent. For this painting I used the Gaussian Blur to create depth for the frogs and background and a smidget of grain as well for the similar purpose of creating space and depth. And here is the result.

3.jpg

I hope this tutorial (Ramble) has helped someone figure some things out, and I appreciate you for taking the time to read the blog and watch the video. Love you Guys and Gals - Take care everyone.

Sort:  

Man this is amazing. Super professional looking stuff and I love the video walk through. Id like to nominate you to get some extra rewards man.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

😊

Also are you on steemit.chat?

Thanks @saywha! I didn't know about steemit.chat, checking out now.

Whoa thats really great @artmessiah. And the process video is top :D
Nice to see how you did this. Upped and followed! Hope to see some more cool stuff from you! :)

Thanks for taking the time to check it out @w0olf :)

Congratulations @artmessiah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @artmessiah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @artmessiah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45