Drawing of a bird with color pencil

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is my recent color pencil drawing of a bird.

Bird 66.jpg

Materials : Drawing paper(A4), Coloring pencil(FABER CASTELL) , Pencil(HB) & Eraser
Duration : 40 min approx.

I started a rough outline drawing with HB pencil. After getting approximate proportion of the image i did fine outline. Don't give pressure on the paper it will make contour on surface and you won't be able to put color properly. After making out line I sketched inner part, approximate reference lines for the feathers. Drawing feather details is very difficult part, here i haven't made fine detailing with pencil because i have to give the detail part in coloring pencil.

Bird 11.jpg

Here comes the coloring part. I sharped my coloring pencil and made pointy enough to draw the tiny feather part. I always start with face/Head, it's good reference point for rest of the body part.

Bird 22.jpg

Avoid pressure on drawing surface while coloring or else you will find difficulty mixing different colors. I always start with light colors, I find out the light colors in the reference image and start rendering it gently and later i use dark colors.This is the basic coloring process most artist use.

Bird 33.jpg

The basic coloring technique most artist use for any medium/color drawing .

Very-light ►Light ►Slightly Dark ►Dark ► Darkest (Black)

Bird 44.jpg

Some Artist start coloring with one point with every detail and finish the drawing, it's difficult to do so as a beginner, you need lot's of practice to get that level of perfection. If you are a beginner i suggest you to to go with basic technique.

Bird 55.jpg

Here I completed most of the part with basic colors. Next part is detailing. Here comes the dark color. I used dark colors like dark gray and dark gray don't go with black, always remember black always comes at final stage where you need to give the final outline and tuning of the drawing.

I looked over entire drawing again and find out where I need extra light, shades and details and did my final touch.

Bird 66.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my drawing and hopefully my drawing process is useful for beginner artist. Please do up-vote if you like my art and follow me for more updates on Art and Design stuffs.

Thank you.

▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬▬ @artme ▬▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬ ▬

Sort:  

Nice work!

I'm looking for Steemit based artists to work on a project and I'd like to know if you're interested. You can read more about it here.

I'll hope to hear from you soon!

~ Mako

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thabk-you.

Thank you. :)

Your arts are great

Congratulations @artme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you

You a very good artist and i like the fact you took out time to shows us the several stages it took you to arrive at the final drawing. Great Job @artme!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95