You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Submit Your Application to be an ArtSearch Curator!

in #art6 years ago

(1) What are your core values as a curator?:
I believe the most important part of curation is objectivity. I see so many art works in my daily job as well as on social media that is not my style or taste, but curating is about promoting good art for everyone. So the most important part of curating is looking at content, concept and technical skill.
(2) What role should art and culture play in our society?:
Art takes on many roles. Art in modern terms reflects our culture and society taking on a role of social commentary informing and highlighting issues. Art can also be purely decorative and we should never underestimate the value of showing the beauty of our world. Art also reminds the general public of our ability as humans to imagine anything is possible and therefore giving rise to invention. We are becoming a global society, but art can still showcase a particular culture or country to allow a global understanding as well as saving a visual history for the future.
(3) What categories of art would you like to cover, and in what language(s)?:
English or on the bizarre chance Afrikaans.
I'm most comfortable curating visual arts, painting, drawing, printing (etching, monoprints,silkscreen etc), sculpture, ceramics, glass. I'm happy to curate digital work, but I'm not sure that I know enough to know when it contains a high skill set so I would only be able to curate on the basic visual end product.
(4) And because all hard work deserves a reward: what is your favorite meal to eat when you want to "treat yourself"?:
Ooooooh this is the most difficult question so far. I love biltong, bunny chows, Sushi, milktart, koeksisters and bacon sandwiches.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for wanting to submit (awesome!) -- please note -- when I say "create post" I mean writing and publishing a post via your steemit account and leaving a link to that post here in the comments. :) Don't forget to also use the tags mentioned above.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69