You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Painting - "Ice Melting on an Iris" - Original Acrylic on Stretched Paper by JVO

in #art7 years ago

I'm liking it; I've never worked in acrylic (though I hope to some day), but is "stretched paper" different than a canvas?
I really like the colors and the overall "feel" of the painting; I could see this hanging in someones living room.
I didn't really do anything for New years and I made no resolutions lol Although I think i'm committed to doing a lot more art than I've ever done before (I usually take really long breaks, like year(s)) - I'm trying to get more involved in the steemit community and I'm going to start a video series "Learn art with me" where I just show my techniques and tips I've picked up for any new/er artists who are interested. I think I actually like teaching art more than doing it lol

Sort:  

Acrylic is not my favorite, but easiest to control and it dries really fast. I like the flexibility of it - using various mediums you can create a lot of effects and get a lot of fluidity to the paints and slow down the drying more so as to achieve better blends. That is primarily why I used it because these had to be done in a week, so unlike my large 4'x5' paintings that we did twice a semester and were in Oils, the Acrylics allowed me to work on this quickly and have a fast dry time.

Stretched paper is just regular thick paper - I think it was a Strathemore sheet - I got it from the Art department of the student store - they had all the best supplies. It was like a sturdy sheet that was great for Watercolors so it had a bit of texture. What you do is fill a basin with water and you dip the paper in it, not for long but just enough to get it all wet and pliable. You then take a stretcher frame that you would use for canvas, but instead you wrap your paper around it and staple. When it dries, it is taught, just like a drum. VERY cool technique that I learned from that studio painting professor. It kept the paper nice and sturdy so that as you painted you would not have to worry about the paper curling or warping on you. Once it dries you cut it off with a utility knife and it is nice and flat!

I really liked this painting - it actually did get placed in my Aunt's living room - HAHA - good guess!

I was really involved over the summer - two major events derailed me a bit, but I'm back with full force and I'm also excited to get back into a more continual involvement.

I LOVE to create, when I am feeling inspired - I like to think I am a decent teacher, but I typically have a hard time slowing down and not going too fast — and I have a hard time organizing how I want to go about explaining something sometimes. I really look forward to watching your series - I love learning from other artists!

wow that paper stretching has me really interested! I need to know more! Do you know the exact type of paper? I'm wondering what the poundage is, my normal watercolor paper is 140 lb, and I know it goes much higher.....huh, maybe 140 lb paper would fold/bend over a frame....
Currently I either don't pre-soak my paper or I will bite the bullet and soak it and then tape it down to MDF boards I created. I really hate pre-soaking my paper since it is such a pain, but I do think it helps with the warping issue; but what you described sounds even better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51