"David" + Progress pics [dry brush/graphite]

in #art6 years ago

Probably another one of my personal favorites that I did a while ago. Once again, this is using the dry brush method; I love it because of the deep blacks you can achieve. In the near future I will have a video showing this process in much greater detail. This piece ended up being given to my sister. 

The finished piece: 

I know it's really hard to see but I first put down the contour drawing in graphite:

For the darkest areas I used black oil paint and for the rest I used graphite:

Thanks for viewing, if you'd like to see more WIP's please follow !

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Oh wow, this is amazing and i love David. I saw him in Florenz and he is beautiful, a perfect work.

Thank you so much! I wish I could see him in real life, the closest I have been is Spain; hopefully some day I'll get to do a tour of europe, maybe even meet some of the awesome SPN people!

Ohhh that will bi awesome, you should tell us when you travel around europe.

Dude, that's legit. I love the progress shots!

thanks! I appreciate it! As an artist myself (uh...obviously) I always try to include them because I always love to see the process when I look at other artists' work; so I try to do the same for others who are like me.

wohuuuuuu! what a real work i see @artistchristian ... Love it and would love to watch that video... really nice . It touched me.. #respect

thanks and i'll be sure to let you know!

And yes I followed you . Do mention me when you make that video . I want to make this sketch for my Fiance.. #thanks

Nice job, looks awesome :)

thanks man....soon to come is some SPN art...........

This is lovely! Those deep blacks make those features pop off the page, he looks so 3D! Great process and I love that you shared so many steps - thanks for sharing that with us :)

thank you! I think a deep black is essential, it's the one drawback to graphite - it just can't get close to either oil or charcoal, and charcoal is so messy.....(even though I do still love it!)

Beautiful work! I had to check you out after reading my friend @jedau's (incredible, awesome friend) words about you in his 2017 recap post I knew you must have serious talent and be a really cool guy ;)

Thanks! Yeah @Jedau is great! I started following you after his post but I hadn't yet got a chance to explore your page, but I look forward to doing so very soon! It's always good when fellow steemians can bring others together! Thanks for stopping by, I'm sure we'll be "seeing" more of each other!

Great to see everyone coming together!

Those are deep blacks. Looking forward to seeing that detailed!

thanks meester! (wait....can I call you just Meester?...it seems weird....the Boom part kind of feels essential....i'm going to leave it for now and think about what i've just done)

Speaking of, looks like I have a new post to read regarding a...red tent? Color me intrigued.

Red Tents, the ongoing saga of the doula lol!!!

Hehe, boom does seem like an interal part hehe

Man, the expression on his face. I like how it contrasts with the assured confidence he normally exudes. A little bit of insecurity would go a long way in making him more human than how he's usually portrayed. I feel like he's more a picture of the everyman here than an idyllic look of what a man "should look like". This is the superior portrayal of David.

thanks man! I agree, the expression is really fantastic (which I merely copied). I would love to see this thing in real life some day!

With the crypto gains you're going to make, that day won't be too far off, brother!

are these from your new cam?

no, actually. BUT, i am right this minute editing my "intro" post to my series "learn art with me" in Premier as we speak (which was shot with the new camera)!

Multi-tasking like a boss

currently I'm a little afraid I have too much i'm trying to do at once...we'll see how it all turns out....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72