You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying to make it as an Artist in a technological age

in #art8 years ago

Hi Tanya, :)
From one artist to another - I was having the same issue. I would spend so much time keeping up my website and various social media pages that I didn't have much time left to make my creations. In 2008 I started trying to get my artwork attention, and hopefully sell it. I joined a variety of websites, but had little luck. I started transforming my passion for art and creativity into other things until I found a way for it to make money. Currently I have way, way to many passions and have a hard time keeping up with them all (decorating, drawing, painting, photography, writing, graphic design, etc). So I just focus my attention on one at a time. I did ink illustrations, and created a series of coloring books. Then I made a decorating book, then I wrote and illustrated a children's book, and now I am writing a book series (I had always wanted to try writing a fiction/fantasy/adventure story, but never took the time. Steemit actually inspired me to start writing a story in a chapter-by-chapter style for my posts)! That is the fun part about creative adventures: you never know where they will take you!

I let a lot of the accounts that I created on the websites go. It was too much work to keep up with them all, and most of them didn't have a very large chance of sales. Etsy I have had luck with, I sell photography photo effects that I create (another passion lol). Selling anything is kind of a trial and error process. You never know what is going to work best. If you love what you do, and enjoy it, you will find a way to make it profitable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44