Two recent drawings

in #art6 years ago

20180704_202234.jpg

Hello Steemit family!

Since last September I was traveling and didn't have studio practice - I mean my drawings was mostly with pen in tiny sketchbooks and my paintings was rather small studies. Glad this time is over, I am slowly crawling back to studio habits. I bought some nice papers and sketchbooks, charcoal, pencils, erasers etc. and have done some test-drive studies. First was done on toned Strathmore paper with Polychromos pencil and white chalk:

dr001.jpg

Sorry no process photos this time, more sophisticated drawings with steps are coming soon!

The second one was on Ingres paper with vine charcoal and white chalk:

dr002.jpg

I am happy to draw with charcoal again despite I still feel that it will take time to grasp this medium again. Hope you guys dig it!!

Sort:  

Beautiful ...

I love the hair in the charcoal drawing! It is a puzzle how to express a face with similar freedom and sensitivity.
I'm following your sketchbook method on my first portrait (overlaying a light pencil drawing with transparent acrylic medium). It is helping me to get started. Thanks. Am now considering how to bring the (her) features to life in an unposed way.
Art is a three-way dance, no?--- between artist, audience, and subject. Each with its needs.

Glad if I was able to help somehow! Sometimes artist, audience and subject are one ;)

right you are, self portraits!

I love these portraits, they have lots of life and spirit. I particularly like the second one on a toned paper. The sensual lips want to jump off the screen and kiss my cheek!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94