Portrait sketch in oils

in #art6 years ago (edited)

rome_sketch_01.jpg

Hello Steemians,

I would like to share with you today quick portrait sketch I've done to warm myself up before I dive into bigger painting. The size is 9x12", oil on paper.

I don't usually paint on paper, the surface is too dry, paint sinks into and dries fast but this time I felt that I could turn it to my advantage - I was using my fingers to blend and smudge the paint and it felt almost like drawing with charcoal or pastel. So it seems I need to buy more paper like this to experiment with paint application.

Hope you like it!

Sort:  

Do you call it a quick portrait? Then I can't wait to see the bigger painting :)

Beautiful portrait, delicate shading and lovely colors.

Thank you for sharing!

Don't get me wrong, when I say quick I mean something which is done for the sake of process, 2-3 hours of work, without any preparations or plan. Thank you!

Now it makes a little more sense :) Thank you for the clarification!

This work is impressive! It's marvelous!

Gorgeous, Marvellous, Amazing!!
well done portrait @arthurgain 🎨
👏👏👏

very kind of you, @melooo182! Much appreciated!

What a beautiful portrait, @arthurgain <3 Her skin tone is so beautiful and I love the colours you use for her clothes and headscarf <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

🎃🎉 Congratulations @arthurgain! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.🎃
image

Woah this is amazing! Great artwork! ** This post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project. **

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52