Portrait sketch in oils + STEPS

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DSC06837.jpg

Dear Steemit family! Today I've decided to make quick oil portrait sketch of my friend Markov. I've stumbled upon the photo of him in my photo library and his expression was so interesting for me to study that I grabbed nearest toned and stretched canvas and installed it on my easel. So...

markov01.jpg

As usual, I've started with drawing - with mixture of raw umber and transparent oxide red using bristle brush. Gesture, proportions and big shapes - there is no need to deal with small features

markov02.jpg

Here I am trying to build forms with very broad strokes, starting with the nose and moving outwards to cheeks and brows

markov03.jpg

When basic big shapes are defined it's time to work on eyes - I always try to find proper shapes for eyesockets first and paint smaller shapes on top of them

markov04.jpg

Jumping from area to area, defining the shapes, fixing mistakes, trying to make shapes more interesting in design. To finish this sketch I just quickly paint the hair and it's all.

DSC06837.jpg

Hope you dig it, people! Cheers!

Sort:  

Fantastic!
Just drained my upvote to 80% and need to wait a day to keep upvoting great posts like this one, and to support @c-squared, @ArtzOne, and @art-venture. Your artwork is amazing. Thanks for sharing the steps as well as the final!

Superb! Upvoted, resteemed and followed!

wow this is amazing bro!! i love it so much

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Mag-1a.jpg
This project is supported by : @alexanderfluke , @brianhphotos , @xpilar , @slowwalker , @sultan-aceh

Incredibly well painted. The skin looks so real as though one can touch it and I love the expressive expression on his face ... it captures the viewer by making us wonder what the man is thinking


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Amazing just sooo amazing <3<3
i want to see the finished work
seriously, i love it: the technique, the estructure and proportions, the expression, the colors used, the shades, the feeling of depth, <3<3
it looks so wonderful ^^
keep it up, please

wooow, this work is amazing!!!

...all of your works! Great artist!

...cant wait so see more. check my profile if you find some time. i do a lot of art too ;) .

cheers,

-edga NOWARGraffitis

Wonderful ! I dig it ! The way you capture expressions are very lovely and natural <3 I love LOVE how you flesh out the planes of a person's face into 'saying something' with their features :> Gorgeous portrait!!

Ditto that!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64281.02
ETH 3503.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54