Painting Mickey Rourke in Iron Man 2 in moleskine +STEPS

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DSC06818.jpg

Hello Steemit family!

Today I'd like to share with you my procces of creating quick sketch with oils in moleskine.

DSC06801.jpg

First of all is drawing. I don't usually make preliminary drawings for sketches like this but size of sketchbook is too small, I don't feel comfortable enough to paint straight away. And I can solve many problems beforehand while doodling with pencil. When drawing is done I seal it with acrilyc medium and wait until it dries (20-30 min)

DSC06802.jpg

I realised that drawing is off when I went back after half an hour and I believe it's good to see it before applying the paint so I started with darkest dark (the hair) and I've made couple of marks to fix the drawing as well

DSC06803.jpg

Here I am covering the dark part of the face with some sort of complexion color. I am thinking big shapes at this stage, all the subtle shapes and features will easily reveal themselves later if big shapes are correct

DSC06806.jpg

With the same idea I cover the rest of the page so no more whites to disturb me. This stage is very useful to evaluate value and color relations and check out if likeness is correct. Quite satisfying but some minor issues should not be left unfixed

DSC06808.jpg

Here I started to work with the form on the light side, first comes the brightest area of forehead to nail the lightest light in the face and after gradually going down.

DSC06809.jpg

From this point I just jump from part to part to refine more and more shapes and colors. It's easy now to concentrate on small details and subtle things. To finish the sketch I just added the toothpick in the corner of his mouth. Here is the finished sketch:

DSC06814.jpg

It took around 3 hours, the I was using Titanium White, Brown Yellow, Transparent Oxide Red, Raw Umber, Senellier Red, Permanent Alizarin, Ultramarine Blue and Ivory Black

Hope you dig it!

Sort:  

Wow!! Great work on such a small area. Mickey was one of the best villains in the Iron Man series. I could never get the hang if oil painting either. Kudos!!

thank you! Agree, his character is one of the best, full of grief, anger and sadness, it's like in life - some are lucky while someone gets the short straw

You made it look so easy!

Very nice. Love the economical brush strokes defining the facial features! Less is more, etc.

thanks! On such a small size any brushstroke becomes economical, it's why I lkie to paint very small from time to time

Very nice drawing, @arthurgain ! You really capture the character's personality in this picture :> A kind of rough but wounded expression on his face ! Beautiful step by step presentation, also ! <3

thank you! Glad you noticed the expression - it was my main attraction and the reason to paint this sketch

Dear Artist @arthurgain ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

I feel glad to see a good portrait painting as this on steemit and also like the steps and explanations!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 176 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98