Oil painting of an eye (+STEPS)

in #art6 years ago

DSC03598-2.jpg

Hello Steemians,

today I'd like to share procces of an alla prima eye study I've done yesterday. The painting was made on Centurion linen panel, size is 5x7 inches

eye01.jpg

As usual I start with the wash to kill the white of the canvas. Quick drawing with the brush to establish light and dark areas

eye02.jpg

Eyes are quite easy to draw, you can relieve yourself from matching the perfect likeness and meditate on the form and overall anatomy of the eye

eye03.jpg

At this stage I have nailed overall value structure

DSC03593.jpg

Here I realized I have messed up with eyelashes so I scraped them out and reworked eyelid to give it more sense of turning form.

DSC03598.jpg

This is more or less the final of this sketch, I hope you guys dig it! Feel free to ask questions in comments

Cheers!

Sort:  

Amazing work, Arthur! You are very talented, bro! :O Already following you, to keep an eye on your content!

thanks a bunch, bro! It really means a lot for me!

Always a pleasure to support great content! :) Greetings, arthurgain!

That looks amazing! (to me eyes are definitely not easy to draw haha)

Thank you ;) We will talk about drawing the mouth and it is real pain :)

It is very helpful to see the stages, beginning with establishing the general structure and the light and dark values. Your equipment looks useful. Who makes it? Thanks.

Glad it was helpful. If your question is about the easel - it is PaintBook made by Edge Pro Gear.

Thanks. I looked up EPG on the net---excellent paintbook! Time to replace my home brew easel.

Wonderful! This makes me wanna paint with real paint!
I really like your use of color. The hints of purple, blue and rich oranges. Really nice :D

Thank you! Glad you liked it. I wish you best of luck on your daily challenge, keep it up!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arthurgain from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99