Moleskine + Gold Leaf + Oils (STEPS)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180922_200602.jpg

Hello Steemit! Todays post is about painting in sketchbook with oils on the gold leaf covered page. I never tried to paint on top on gold leaf before so it was pure experiment. It felt weird somehow to paint on gold, but not wierd enough, so I've decided to add more experimental features - this time i tried to make portrait in color using black and white photo as my reference. I chose movie still from "Sanjuro" with Toshiro Mifune, I always loved this movie by Akira Kurosawa, actually I love all his movies.

step01.jpg

After applying gold leaf on the page I started first with drawing, this time with brush using mixture of raw umber, alizarin and black.

step02.jpg

When drawing is done I've introduced a dark value in the hair to start from it. So the most funny part is about to begin - inventing skintones

step03.jpg

The surface is too shiny, I want to cover it with paint ASAP, just following the values on my reference and mixing warm and cool skintones as I go

step04.jpg

Refining more of the structure - introducing smaller planes, fixing drawing issues, adding small details.

step06.jpg

After this stage I spent some time to fix issues with the edges, more refinement here and there...

Here is the final look of this sketch:

IMG_20180922_200602.jpg

Hope you dig it!! Cheers!

Sort:  

AMAZING !! I love this portrait, @arthurgain ! you really brought such beautiful and warm skintone against that backdrop of shiney golden page !

the step by step is very well presented, also * ___ *

Gorgeous post <3

Yeah, amazing!

thanks! this shining was bothering me in the beginning but the surface is amazing, will do more oil on gold in the future

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
jrqq2sw949.jpg

Very interesting that you managed to paint ON TOP of the gold leaf ! At first glance I thought you would just have put the gold leaf around the portrait once dry. Amazing ! The man looks to me like a monk from the middle ages and the gold leaf adds an iconic quality. Beautifully painted portrait.

Thank you. I wanted to try paint wet-on-wet on such a surface. The paint behaves wonderfully, like a butter, Ioved it.

The depth you've captured here is breathtaking. His face is practically hovering on top of the gold. Another fantastic portrait, thank you arthurgain!

Happy you liked it!!

This is fresh! I like the elements in details especially the moleskin+ gold part ! If they had a custom moleskin with simething like this on it, i`d pay for it 🙂 Awesome work!

Bonus points for Akira Kurosawa 💜

Thanks!! You can pimp normal moleskine up with gold easily by yourself :)

Oh love it! Reminds me of those very old early paintings.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It somehow feels like a part of ikonostasis because of the gold color. Don't get me wrong, I don't mean to say it looks religious but it reminds me of those paintings in the orthodox church.

It is a great portrait! His skin color, beard and eyes are so realistic!

Thank you for sharing! It is a beautiful piece of art!

You are absolutely right, the gold is commonly associated with sacred, especially in the East - Byzantinium Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism - they use gold a lot in decoration and depiction of deities. For me gold leaf was more like experimental surface to push paint around and it seems I liked it. The idea to try it out came when I saw Edgar Maxence's painting in d'Orsay museum in Paris a couple of months back.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations, you have been featured in this week's Finder Frog Focus: Art Recap Post Our Recap of this weeks topic first published here.

Keep creating! We're looking forward to your next post.
If you don't appreciate this comment, reply to your post and tag @BuddyUp so we can remove it. If you want to know more about the BuddyUp community on Discord you can read about us in Safe Link Post

Dear Artist @arthurgain ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52