Figure sketch in moleskine with oils

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180920_173453.jpg

Today I felt like I want to paint small so I grabbed my moleskine and have made small figure study. It was quite tricky to paint sunset light with limited palette without high chromatic orange and with ivory black as a sole blueish color on my pallete. The colors were Titanium White, Yellow Brown, Transparent Oxide Red, Raw Umber, Sennelier Red and Ivory Black.

Hope you like it!

Sort:  

Love this one Arthur!

Thanks, Leo, very kind of you!

Wow the lighting in this really transforms this from a fairly ordinary pose/nude study to something quite powerful and almost mysterious. Also it is incredible how much this feels like a large painting even though I know that is quite small as far as oil paintings go. Top notch!

Thank you! True, I was keeping larger painting in mind so it was more like study for upcoming work.

Great composition! Streak of sunlight. Fine body. I love it that her face is in shadow. As a former novelist, I hope that it isn't all downhill for her after these years. Maybe she's a great cook, an expert in molecular biology, or a qualified ferry captain in Puget Sound.
Wouldn't you have ultramarine blue in a limited palette? I've been reading "drawmixpaint.com." Do you know it? Mark Carder? A very decent hard working painter, maybe not Cezanne, but an excellent communicator glad to share hard won practical painting techniques. Thanks for the post.

Thanks! Yes, I have watched few videos from Mark and his Carder's method is really strong, I love his approach to painting. Concerning Ultramarine: the goal was to reach strong warm/cool contrast with Zorn's palette, with focus on skintones. When I use Ultramarine blue in limited palette I would take Transparent Red Oxide as my yellow, Alizarin as my red and Ultramarine as blue which would be strongest color. And it's good exercise when you try to mix color you don't have )

Beautiful! The lighting really adds drama to the pose and your colours are so delicious, as always, @arthurgain <3

Thank you!! Much appreciated!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

UPDATE: Hi @arthurgain this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/exponential-c-featured-posts-september-21th-2018


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52