Ballpoint sketch with two colors (STEPS)

in #art6 years ago

header.jpg

Hello Steemians! Today I would like to share with you one of my approaches to ballpoint drawing. We all know that ink can't be erased and the punishment for mistake is severe (there are few trick although ;) so one of the working methods for me is to draw from the inside outwards, without preliminary construction or gestural shapes etc.

step01.jpg

  • Here I just started with the nose. Using both red and blue colors I separate my dark values from the light values by temperature, it's very helpful because I will use red and blue to create more shifts and make subtle transitions

step02.jpg

  • Next step is to find the eyesocket and the eye.

step03.jpg

  • Gradually developing from the eye outwards - the goal here is do not jump into the values, concentrate only on the structure.

step04.jpg

  • Trying to establish structure of the lower part and marking areas which will be in the dark group

step05.jpg

  • Now it's time to find another eye and to start establishing relationships between dark and light value families.

step06.jpg

  • For the dark halftones I use mostly blue color and after add the red as lightest halftone in the shadows. It makes nice separation from the light halftones where red is darkest. Subtle additions of the blue to the reds can make accent on the form or create illusion of skin tone by shifting the temperature

step07.jpg

  • Finishing touches include filling the gaps, making shadows stronger, enforcing some structural marks and it's all.

This sketch was done in pocket-sized Leuchtturm1917 sketchbook, pen tip is 0.5 mm, it took about one hour.

Hope you dig it, folks! Cheers

Sort:  

That is unique! Ballpoint pen is not very forgiving. I like the way you used just two colors to achieve a balance between warm and cool. The cross hatching is very well done too. Great job!

Thank you! It's true - pen is teaching to make right decisions and don't forgive mistakes :)

Another Great Portrait


It is always a pleasure to watch your process. I have to say, you really have me wanting to play with some colored pens. I'm sure it isn't as easy as you make it look, but it would be a great study in temperature.

I'm really looking forward to seeing you grow more on Steemit. You are a credit to the platform.

You Have Been Featured!

You have brought us another great sketch So it is being featured in @helpie 's Fine Art Curation Report that will be published later today. Any rewards made from this will be divided between the 4 featured artists.

HelpieHead.JPG

Follow @helpie to keep up with the Fine Art Curation Report and much more.

Cool! Thank you for the feature and for your kind words!

You are very welcome. Have a great day.

My fellow artist @arthurgain, I've added you to my weekly round-up artist support initiative future! Keep up the good work and wish you all the best in your art future! MeGy :) #supportartist

Thank you for your support! It means a lot for me!

El entendimiento es claro con tu explicación. La combinación entre el rojo y azul quedó muy bien logrado. El bolígrafo, una herramienta que te hace practicar para ser honestos de la evolución en la ilustración, Felicidades...

Me alegra que te haya gustado!

Just love this kind of drawings. Your skill is so good that this person looks like it's going to pop up or blink from a paper @arthurgain.

Thank you, much appreciated!

amazing~ i need to learn how to do tonal drawings with the pen and this really inspires me to do so <3 love the depth and plane-work that you are able to achieve only by using pens. incredible talent * ___ *

upvotes and resteems

I must see more of your work! Fantastic steps here, thank you.

Thanks! Will do more steps and videos in the future!

Amazing post! I love it. Checkout my new post: http://bit.ly/upmyvoteand and let me know if you like it :)

Amazing colors and lines, love the proportion too yes!

Thank you ^_^

Spectacular friend, with pure stripes achieved something almost realistic, I love it, your drawing is more beautiful than the real Christian Bale xD

firma 4.jpg

Well, I think it's Christian Bale xD

You are absolutely right, my friend, you do have keen eye indeed! :) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79