When Stars Dance Upon Water !

in #art8 years ago (edited)

One of my smaller paintings, which is also one of my own personal favorites.

To play with the balance of nature may be dangerous, but it is also thrilling. History has shown that the inquisitive human spirit cannot resist the temptation to look upon, and experience, forbidden things. But why are they forbidden, and who sets the rules?

We are curious creatures with curiosity built into our very DNA. One could even say that we are born rebellious and that we simply can not help ourselves wanting to break or bend the rules.

As children we lift up heavy stones, peer into dark shadows, and listen at doorways trying to discover secrets that might give us new insight into how this whole conundrum, we call life, functions.

The older I get the more the experience of life pushes me towards one specific direction. And the direction I find myself heading towards is that the universe is a moral one. Love is the driving force of existence, not hate. Thus I have come to believe that the balance of power in human affairs must be equal to the power of love in the universe. 

When things appear to disappear from our lives, it is often in that moment that we discover that love is there waiting for us. It has always been for us, there in the shadows. We can not see it, hear it, touch it or smell it. But we feel it.

On one crystal clear night I was out taking a stroll along side the fjord at the back of my house. The evening was calm and the fjord was as still as a pond. I looked upon the water and saw that it was a perfect mirror of the magnificent starry sky above. This rare and wondrous sight simply took my breath away. 

It was not only because it was stunningly beautiful, but because I realized I was witnessing the laws of the universe being broken. Stars upon water. Two opposing forces existing in perfect harmony. This delicate balance of beauty could not be impossible if not for the natural way of things. For me, the illusion uncovered a truth. 

That the laws of the moral universe are not meant to enslave us, but to free us to delight in the miracle of existence. Curiosity gives us the power to bend the laws of physics in order for us to dance on water. And the shadow that is cast from our human form is not meant to instill fear but to instead define how magnificent our form has been cast. 

                          

           Acrylic on stretched paper - 15 x 20cm - When Stars Dance Upon Water   by Arthur Adamson

Sort:  

Oh my, I am in love with this painting! It's is magnificent. I don't know how to express how much I truly love the water, the lady, her hair and color, the splash of radiance. Resteemed and upvoted!!!

Wow what a lovely reply. Thank you so much. I have had many offers on the painting as it still hangs in my little gallery. However I have declined every time as as I just cant part with it as yet. I need to live with it a little while longer.
The model is a neighbor of mine who is a ballet dancer. She had a hard time balancing on her toes for a certain amount of time. I got her to throw her head forward to get that effect of her hair.
I wanted to capture her, yes "radiance" as you put it. Her name is Nina. She is beautiful as well as intelligent and very self confident. Thank you for responding, much appreciated!

I am impressed by your work. You have a very distinct style and I bet Nina feels honored to be painted in a way that captures her essence!

Thanks, yeah Nina was happy with the final painting. She has a quality print of it. I plan to paint her again in a bigger painting. But she has modeled for me before and I shall probably do post one of them. Keep a look out. Cheers for your kind words @kristy1

However and wherever you choose to paint Nina will be amazing I am sure. I would like to see the other side of her, like the little bit of darkness she has to possess somewhere. It would be amazing to see her natural radiance light up the night sky like a star that fell to earth bring back the glow of the sun. I believe in things like that. That like the song "don't you know that you are a shooting star" means that when a shooting star falls and we make a wish that you can wish for it to be a star radiant person and someone on earth because like Nina just radiant with a glowing personality if you will. That shooting stars save the world from becoming too filled with dark people. It's one of the things I don't think I am suppose to think or knownor believe but I feel maybe you see that aspect of our world at times too. So it's nice to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65