TRUE LOVE WAITSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

There is a an old tree in the forest behind my house that has captured my imagination.
It is a huge old oak an at its base is a hole that looks rather like a cave. Below the tree runs a small river and on sunny days it glistens and sparkles creating strange light affects that bounce up onto the tree.
The location of the tree is somewhat off the beaten track and thus is surrounded by overgrown bushes and grass.
The whole setting is quite magical and reminds me of something out of Lord of the Rings or something.
A few weeks ago I was standing watching the amazing light affects as the sun dancing though the forest canopy and I imagined the sight of the "Huldre" spirit resting withing the cave hole of the oak tree.

HULDRE
In Norway there is an old legend of the Huldre - female spirits that roam the forest and mountains.
They wait for a man whom they can seduce and then marry, for once they marry they become human.
There is an old farmer here in my village who said he once saw one of these Huldre Spirits when he was younger.
Of course he is pretty much ridiculed for saying this but still he sticks to his tale and so the legend lives on.



I decided to make a "sketch" painting that I might use for a larger painting.
I tried to capture the amazing colorful scene as though a magical neverland and the a Huldre spirit sits waiting in the tree cave. Waiting for a man to come along to capture his heart.
But perhaps his Huldre is not like the other Huldre spirits. She has a romantic soul and so waits not only for a man to come along to merely seduce, but for the "right" man.
She realizes that once she becomes human she must live with the man and thus she wants to love the man and for the man to love her in return. And when such a man comes along, after perhaps a millennium, she will come out of the tree cave and reveal herself. And then, and only then, will the tree also be allowed to fade away into natures history.
And so she waits, and she waits, and she waits...

I call the painting...True Love Waits

Thank you for visiting my blog and a warm welcome back next time.



Sort:  

Very interesting, and true! Real love will always wait! And of course, beautiful artwork! Upvoted and followed :)

Hey thanks fir that - followed back!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you so much

Beautiful colours and subject matter, a very magical tree!

Thank you opheliafu, appreciated

wow, so beautiful piece! I love to know the thoughts behind an artwork and what inspired a piece of art, so thanks for share this content with us ^_^

Thank you Silvia, yeah I have been more open the last few years about my creative thought processes. I used to be rather secretive about such things but now I do not fear sharing. Cheers

Romantic and tragic at the same time. How can she ever recognize true love without having experienced life. Is this possible in any way?

Good question.
I feel that the heart can recognize or sense its natural match when it comes close. I believe we are all connected in some way on some invisible level and so yes I think it is possible to find true love without experiencing life.

Very interesting perspective. Thank you for sharing. Today everyone wants to be prepared as best as possible. At least in my experience. I remember telling my mom I could not go to school yet because could not read. I felt like I needed to have at least some basic knowledge before attending school. I guess this mentality followed me into the love department I always felt like needing some experience before being able to recognize the one. Which was both right and also wrong in many ways.

I see, that is very interesting to here how your generation sees life in that perspective.
I guess I ave always took life as a journey or an adventure.
I never really have ever planned anything but merely gone when the water of life lead me.
Sounds like you have been hurt at one time.

It is more like I have been hunting myself. I have been holding myself back by believing there was a level to accomplish before I could find love. It's only now, meaning this year, I am starting to realize that being with the flow is actually a natural state one can just be in.
Thank you so very much for your posts. For some reason they always start a very beneficial thought process in me. :)
Have you seen this post? I am just too curious what you think of it. :)

I understand you sumsum, I think the world has a way of getting inside our head and we have watch out for that because it can divert us from out natural path.
I will check the link....

The idea of the painting is so touching... Thank you for sharing, I love your art so much!
The colors are unbelievable! May I ask what paints do you use?

Thanks Imber, much appreciated,
I guess Im an old romantic at heart.
I use a combination of watercolor, guache, acrylic and ink.

Oh WOW! Never thought that all these could be mixed together:) I mean all four of them

There are no rules Inber, use whatever you think can help you get the affect you want..give it a try - happy experimenting 😃

Whatever looks good looks good:)

I loved this post from the title of the post itself all the way to the end of the story behind it, Thank you for sharing your inspiration turned into reality. How much would you sell this masterpiece for if you were to sell it? I am interested :) following you now btw ;)

Hey thanks for the compliment and for following.
Not thought of a price as yet but will give it some thought.
Cheers!

That picture makes my heart glow! 💛 thank you for sharing this!

Beautiful sketch and those colors look amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62