You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: my favorite artist

in #art8 years ago

Hi, yeah I have l known for while now about Hockney´s uncovering of this secret usage of lens technology in art history. As an artist this affected me in a number if ways. At first I was somewhat skeptical especially because one the artists he focussed a lot was Caravaggio. Caravaggio has always been a hero of mine as being one if the greatest artists of all time. So for Hockney to appear to be, in one sense, de-grading the artist brought out the defender in me. However there is no denying the truth when we see the solid evidence put right in your face and it is pretty clear that Caravaggio used a camera Obscura. I must admit I felt a somewhat let down and had a bit of a sulk about it the whole thing for a while about it all. However out of this knowledge brought forth new thoughts. It might be true that Caravaggio used lens technology to create their work but does that make their work any less meaningful or less valuable in art history? Of course not. I mean a lens might help you to draw out the composition but it will not paint it for you. There are two types of artists, those that love to draw and those that love to paint. Caravaggio loved painting. The lens was a gift for him because it shortened the time taken in drawing out in order for him to get to do the activity that made him feel alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60915.40
ETH 2627.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58