A HEART OF STONE: When something small is no small thing.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Story behind this tiny artwork is somewhat bigger than its dimensions of 8cm x 11cm. 

I know we are all far too busy these days, but if you manage to get time to read this post,
I promise you will understand why something small can have a huge value.

Dedicated artists will know that working on small pieces can be twice as hard as working on large scale works.

This is especially if realism is involved.

 It takes many years of dedication to their craft for an artist to develop the skill to work on the small scale. This is partly what the art collector is investing in when they buy a "miniature" piece.
The Japanese are renowned for their love of tiny artwork and the UK have a long history of miniatures going back centuries.
However, I am actually more well known in the art world for my for my large scale paintings/murals. See below

               

Very few actually know that I also have a love of working on a small scale pieces.
I see it as a test of my skill as well as being a way of nurturing my soul.
Working so small focusses your mind. You can not work in this way and do other things at the same time because you really have to concentrate on controlling your hand. And so you are completely in touch with yourself, and who you are. The rest of the world is forced to be shut out for a while and I think that is a healthy thing to do now and again.
    

Although I am a naturalised Norwegian, (moving to the country some 18 years ago now), my mother land is the UK. As such I grew up with miniature art as being a highly valued form of art. When I moved to Norway I spent time on doing a number of small works. Admittedly, it was to try and impress the gallery owners.
This as a huge mistake. I quickly learned that Norway had no tradition of miniature art.
Galleries just did not "get it" at all.
With one gallery owner in Oslo, I showed three of my paintings. One miniature, one a bit larger than A3 size, and one of my larger canvases. When he asked the price of them he was shocked that I had placed a high price on the miniature piece:  "Why is it so expensive when it is so small?" He asked.
I was stunned at that response!
Over the years I have gradually come to realise that art in Norway is still actually developing when it comes to art.
I dont mean that to sound as condescending as perhaps it does. You see, the Norwegian people are a rather practical- "Things" need to have a practical use. Art is not practical. Only since Norway found oil, and so has become one of the wealthiest countries in the world, has art began to be collected for the sake of its beauty or its mystery. Indeed. for the mystery why human-beings place a high value on art is the very reason why art is valuable. Art collectors in Norway have tons of money to buy art and so I get good prices for my work but getting certain gallery owners to see that it is the quality of art not the size that matters, has not been easy.
(Oh dear I am surely going to get into trouble for saying that :)

This particular miniature (below) is called: " A heart of Stone" 

It was sold last week for $1500

      

 It was a big deal for me to sell a small painting to this particular art collector because he is well known in the country as an art investor and only buys art from artists whom he consider will be a "name"  in the future.
He loves art for sure, but he also loves making money lol Such is the world of the art market :)
The fact that he bought this miniature I see as an indication that attitudes are changing in the Norwegian art world and it is a change in the right direction IMO. 

The story behind the painting

The inspiration behind this work came from my Norwegian wife. She loves stones and likes to collect them. Whenever we go for a walk along the fjord she always looks for an interesting stone to take home. Our kitchen window is full of them.  
At admit that at first I did not see what was so interesting about stones but I gradually began to understand and appreciate their beauty. How many thousands of years has it taken to make a small stone?  Stone pressing against stone, water washing over them, and the passing of time, eventually creating a shape and identity all of its own. And then there is the colour. Some of the most incredible colours and patterns can be seen on on stones.  In a way, each stone is a masterpiece of nature and earth history.
            

My work is traditional figurative but gradually an idea formed in my mind
of how to incorporate a female figure in a stone setting. 

A woman is soft, a stone is hard.
Those tow concepts seemed incompatible and that is what interested me.
I needed a model.
 

One of the models I used now and then was a rather a cold person. Or at least that is how she came across to me.
She would never chat with me during break periods preferring to keep to herself.
I perceived her to having; "a heart of stone." How wrong I was. 

I am jumping ahead here.
Anyways, due to my cold opinion of this "cold hearted" model, I figured she was the perfect choice for my stone painting. Her jet black hair would go well with some of the dark sections of stones, I figured.
And so I contacted her. She agreed.
I drove to a local river that I flowed into the end of one of the fjords. Where fresh water meets salt water.
I often walked along this particular river because it was packed with all sorts so stones large, small and of all shapes and colours.

Together we walked along the river looking for an interesting location. Eventually we came across a sort of corner formed by three large boulders. It also seemed to have a natural seating area and it was right next to the water too.  After several attempts I ended up deciding on a seating position with a pose that would highlight her hands. Of which I thought were quite beautiful. We use our hands to pick up stones so I wanted hands to be part of the composition. However, hands are notoriously difficult, therefore I knew I was going to make life difficult for myself considering the small scale I was going to be working.

         

It was surely uncomfortable for her, but she did not complain once. 

However, it was the calm before the storm.
I had finished with all my sketching, and she began to get up. Suddenly he stumbled and fell over. She grabbed hold of her ankle and it was clear was now in some pain. She began crying.
I was actually a little uncertain as to what I should do. After all she was naked.
I mean, where I should put my hands to help her up?
I had brought a woollen blanket for her to sit on and so I grabbed hold of that and this around her so at least she was covered up. I helped her hobble back to the car, and and as she waited ,I ran back and got her clothes and my sketch book. I drove to the local hospital, which was about an hour´s drive away, and she was grimacing with pain the whole way. The looks I got from people in the waiting area watching me bring in a patient who was all but naked was somewhat embarrassing to say the least. One elderly lady looked at me as though I was some kind of pervert.

        

Luckily we did not have to wait long and she was treated quite quickly.
It turned out she had a broken ankle. When I saw her come with a walking stick and her foot in plaster I felt absolutely terrible. I had not even considered that  the location I had taken her might possibly cause an accident.
I was very apologetic and she was very understanding.
It was then I began to see how wrong I had been about her being a cold person.

Later in the hospital cafe she told me that she had broken up with her long term boyfriend and was having difficulty coming to terms with it. Even after year.
Apparently they had been "boyfriend and girlfriend", as she put it, ever since they were in school. They had been lovers for about 8 years and had plans to marry. Childhood sweethearts I think they call it.
Then, one night, after returning home from work early, she found "her man" in bed with her so called "best friend".
A friend whom she had also known since school.
As you can imagine, it left her devastated.
She cried several times in that cafe while telling me this sad tale and it was rather moving to listen too.
She took hold of my hands....gosh, those beautiful hands of hers...and she actually apologised;
"I´m sorry if I came across a bit cold Arthur." She said.
This only made me feel even more guilty :(
At that moment the artist in me saw a kind of beauty in her sadness and right there and then I decided to try and capture this in the final painting. I know this was rather naughty of me, but such moments can be irresistible to an artist. I hope yo can forgive me for that :(  

So you see I was wrong. So very wrong. 

She did not have a "heart of stone" at all, but a heart that was broken.
It was her ex-lover who was the one who had the heart of stone.
When I hear of such betrayals by men it makes me feel ashamed to be a man :(

    

I drove her home and told her to "take care" and that I would "be in touch".
However, as it turned out, that was the last time I ever worked and saw this model (I will not disclose her name of for obvious reasons).
But then, out of the blue, just last christmas, I received a card with a letter inside. There were also a couple of photographs too. It seems she had met someone and had fallen in love and the photographs were of them together.
Her new love of her life was a male nurse who worked with handicapped children. She looked so different that at first that I hardly recognised her. Gone was the sadness in her eyes and the frown on her face. Instead there was light in those bright blue eyes - which of course will never be seen in my painting. Her melancholic expression had transformed into a wide smile that was filled with sunshine. It was clear she was deeply happy.
She told that she had decided to give up modelling and had gone back to college to study geology, which I think is the study of stones, isn't it? I was of course happy for her and wrote back wishing her all the best for the future.

The whole affair was quite of a big learning experience for me.
I learned not to jump to conclusions about someones character.
That, just because someone might appear to have a "heart of stone", it does not mean that they have. 

Occasionally I go walking along that river bank, and when I come to that place, the place where her ankle was broken and her broken heart was revealed, and I smile to myself, happy to now know the final outcome was a happy one.

So you see, for me, this tiny little painting has a rather big meaning.


Small things in life can have a huge value because they contain enormous truth. 

 

  What I write is merely my own thoughts from my own life experience.
Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and a warm welcome back in advance. 

Sort:  

Lovely work and a story to suit it. When you were describing the stones, colours, shapes etc, I was waiting for texture. I was imagining a woman of stone texture in a sort of marshmallow setting, but what you did was more interesting.

Am I one of those who appreciate miniatures? I've owned one, painted inside the lid of an antique pocket (fob) watch and one that I commissioned. My love was very patient with me (in our early days) and I would take tons of photos of her, for I was fascinated by her beaty, thinking she is something out of this world. I would develop and print (b&w) an, of course, experiment.

One photo of hers was a huge success; she loved it! So did everybody who saw it, so I told myself, this picture of her at sweet 16, I must find a really talented artist to turn it into a painting. I found an old man who, using a magnifier, painting tiny cameos on ultra thin wafers of ivory. He charged the earth, but I did not care, for having seen his work I knew she will treasure it forever.

I was allowed to spend some time watching him work and my respect and admiration for his talent blossomed.

So, if I were twenty years younger, I would ask for you to create one for me - I would need to be younger, for anything of talent needs years of appreciation so that it grows to become a part of me.

Thanks for sharing this with us.

Thank you for your kind words my good fellow and for your interesting information about commissioning an artist to paint a miniature. I would have really liked to see that work. It is a dying skill these days.
I understand how one can be fascinated by a woman´s beauty. Such thing have affected me many times during my own life.
Thank you : )

Man that's an amazing piece of artwork and history behind it. You never know what someone is thinking, just assume that you know by how they come off or appear from the side.

Yes exactly
And thanks for the compliment :)

I submitted your post for @shadowspub's quality curation list, hope you don't mind.

Absolutely do not mind. Very kind of you to think of me for that. Very much appreciated. Thank @guiltyparties :)

That is a very touching story! The post caught my attention, because I'm a professional artist too and a lot of my work is relatively small.

When I read what you wrote about the difficulties of working at a small scale, a portrait I did 3 years ago came to my mind... the face is only 3cm high and the person portrayed was quite pleased. So, I know, what it means :-)

Truly love this small gem. Particularly all the tones in the shadows. And the way you did her feet... hands are hard, but a lot of artists don't pay much attention to the feet and they are often done sloppy.

Finally... I completely understand your wife. I bring home stones from our vacations :-)

Compliments for both, a beautiful post as well as a beautiful piece of art!

Hei : ) @reinhard-schmid
First, it was very refreshing to hear back from fellow artist who understands my meaning from a technical standpoint. It is often difficult for non-artists and non-collectors to appreciate the effort and skill it takes to create a work of art. People today tend to look at detailed artwork as though it appeared from out of thin air at the click of a button rather like a camera. Technology has made the world into an "instant" world where you can get what you want by just clicking a mouse. This has made it harder for people to appreciate hard work and dedication to a craft. So, like I said, it was very nice to hear back from a fellow artist.
Secondly I took the liberty of having a look at some of your work and I must say I was very impressed. I love your style and especially the creative imagination of the imagery. Your work is excellent my good fellow !
Therefore the fact that you took time to comment on my work I take as a big compliment and I thank you.
I am following you now : )

Good morning! Figure we are in the same time zone ;-)

Thank you so much for your kind reply. It is strange how people look at certain art today... anything remotely realistic is registered as "photo" and why would that be so hard anyways.. in any size, right? ;-)

In this world of everything being digitally available it is just like you say... most people do not have a sense for skill and hard work in art...

Thank you also for your kind compliments. Following you too and I'm looking forward to enjoy more of your excellent works :-)

wow very very awsome art and painting 💕
i like art and good work my friend💕

Great work @arthuradamson, your passion and your love for art is awsome and that you shows in your paintings , off course tiny things have big meanings and you proved that very well .you have real creativity skills I appreciate much and love your work,,, thanks

Thanks for the warm and positive feedback @rabeel, it all helps towards my motivation :)

Thank God I found this post! I love drawing and painting too, but I need to learn more, i hope I can learn it from your posts. Regards.

Thanx :)
I will certainly be doing some art/advice type posts in the future
Appreciate the feedback @marikalubis

Wow ! It looks absolutely stunning ! :) makes me more motivated to learn painting. Upvoted and followed you sir. I hope to see more of your work in the future !

Thank you, appreciated. And thanx for the follow too.
Followed back :)
Yes, please take up painting. The more art in the world the better.
Rather art than weapons :)

You're absolutely correct and its motivating :) I'm still learning and finding where I should focus on but i guess art is a never ending process of learning. And thank you

Keep going @nessyquel. You will find your way. My old art teacher from many years ago now once told me "Growing comes from doing"
I think you will discover she was right. I will follow you to see what you post :)
Good luck-

Followed OMG this is so AMAZING!!! ^_^

Thank you so much

Excellent work- I love small paintings. The hands are really good. I have heard about hands being difficult to draw.

you are amazing artist!
hey, want to join with my art community on steemit..? its community to helping all member to grow.
please check @s-a-c
and read its introducing post
:)

Hi thanx.

I have been working with a similar idea for a while now but I am so busy to actually dedicate myself to doing that.
I like the principle behind what you are doing and ill have a think about it.
I also know a few artist here on Steemit who, I can tell about you.
The only thing I will say is that artists are generally suspicious of becoming part of a collective. Artists generally take time to trust people. I mean, I am sure you have good intentions, but think about it, if you grow into a whale, what is to stop you abusing the power? I dont say that you would, but it is a possibility. To stop assure that no one has total control there should be a few who share the power. This is why Guilds have been worked on Steemit. I thought about starting an artists guild for that reason.

What nationality are you?
I noticed that there were a number of incorrect grammar errors on your post.
This could give the wrong impression to artists.
Let me have a think but I have not said no.
I need to know who your are?
Thanks for taking contact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01