Guess Who Won The Consolation Prize For an Art Critique/Essay? 😆

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Well I just saw the announcement of winners. Remember I wrote about the essay on The Last Botong (Camote Diggers)? Well, I got the consolation prize. 🎉🎉🎉

And what is the prize? Oh it's P1,500 (or abt $29 based on today's currency exchange) and I'm happy at least I got something rather than nothing. 😄 The grand winner wrote specifically about the painting. Not that I didn't but I might have forgotten the contest is more likely for promoting (the auction of) the painting and not really dissecting what it negatively or positively represents. I dunno, I'm not the judge of the contest but the 1st prize winner deserves the prize.

And the nationalistic nitpicker in me noticed there were only two entries in Filipino worthy of winning any prize. And we both got consolation prizes. 😆 The other 7 winning entries are in English. Well, what do you expect from a country whose major newspapers are in English even up to now. 😀

image


Who were the judges? Am not exactly sure... What were the criteria for judging? Oh that's easier to answer.

image



Curious what I wrote that made it win? It's in Filipino and I don't feel like translating it. 😂 If you haven't read my previous related post and wanna Google translate my essay yourself to get a gist of what I said then check my blog and essay on the painting in my new entertainment review blog.

You can read the rest of the entries on the Facebook page and Instagram account of Leon Gallery Makati. Look for the Camote Diggers video with the contest mechanics. 😄

jjh2d89g82.png



In other news, I finally got my schedule fixed to go to the meeting of prize winners tomorrow. 😆 Awarding will be at the event itself. Hehe.

Will first go to my cousin in the afternoon and give her the superfoods drink One Opti Juice. Won't be able to go meet my bro for lunch because he'll be off work by 3pm and 12nn would be too early to where I'm going afterwards.

Next I will go to the property discussion of The Arton by Rockwell so I have a better idea about it before selling any of said condo units for real. Last but not the least, to the said winners meeting. Oh yeah! 🔥 🔥 🔥

How about you? Have you planned your day for tomorrow?

XOXO,
@artgirl



IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.


Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist, writer and an online seller. For inquiries on Metro Manila properties for sale, art and writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

DeviantArt prints here.


Click banners to join


AliDropship is the best solution for drop shipping

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Wow! Nice one! Congrats gurl!

Tenkyuuuu. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.483 which ranks you at #6273 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 18 places in the last three days (old rank 6291).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 154 contributions, your post is ranked at #132.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87