Stormtroopers in Watercolor/pen on paper

in #art7 years ago

finished.jpg

Hello all,
Today I'm going to discuss my process for creating these storm troopers. First off I was asked to put together a group of the storm troopers from the different movies. After the client approved it, I went about penciling, roughly, where the guys were going to be and their stances. Afterwards, I used watercolor pens to put in the details.
adding watercolor over pencil.jpg
One of the newer troopers was the flame trooper and the snow trooper from the force awakens. of the two, I thought the flame trooper had the most potential to add a little umph to the piece. So here are the two pics of the pencil and then the watercolor pen over it.
flametrooper pencil.jpg
flame trooper pen.jpg
Next I filled in the rest of the watercolor pen work and added the in the background.
browns.jpg
First browns, then blues.
background blues.jpg
Next I worked on the flames and the smoke. I tried to get an idea of how the flames would shoot out and where they would go from the nozzle. The hardest part about watercolor is its lack of forgiveness with mistakes. So, make sure you have a strong grasp of what you want to do so you have less chances of having to hide mistakes.
adding in flames.jpg
So now that I have the basic shape in I can darken the mistakes and highlight the successes.
flame detail.jpg
and then finally the mostly finished product.
finished.jpg
I actually don't have any pictures of it done, since it was a commission piece. I leave the final product for the person who purchased it.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my art as much as I had in creating it. If you enjoy my content, please upvote and follow for more great art posts. I hope you are having an amazing Wednesday.

Sort:  

This is a really cool drawing of my favorite series..good job my friend #upvoteforupvote

Thank you. The flames on the water was a particular challenge in watercolor but I think it turned out well.

I really like your work. This piece is very impressive. Consider yourself followed.

Thank you, it is a passion of mine. It is always hard to share yourself with the world.

i also paint and now follow in support of your art

Thanks, I hope to keep inspiring. I'll have another painting on here tomorrow.

Very nice!! How long did you take to complete it?

That was about 20 hours of work, with setup, planning and execution.

Love your art so much!

Thank you. My plan is to have new content posted constantly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61