Homage to the Mayan People (20"x 30" acrylic on canvas)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Living in America, I have heard the terms "melting pot" or "home of the free" my whole life. But, those terms always remind me of the loss that had to occur; the people, diverse cultures, local plant knowledge, and animal husbandry that was systematically destroyed by colonialism. This was my way to bring additional light to one these amazing cultures.


It all started when I went on a field trip to the DeYoung Museum in San Francisco. Walking among the thousands of hours of work hanging on the walls, I started studying how the masters created their illusions. I made my way through all the modern art, the block prints, the crazy sculptures and oddball political statements of the modern man frantically sketching in my pad. My eyes scanning and soaking in everything I saw. Then, I went down a hall and I hit a room full of rock sculpture. These, though, were from the ancient past. Most of the exhibits that filled the room were from Mesopotamia. Then, as I started exploring I noticed that the artifacts were starting to show up from places like South America, a little closer to home. As I examined these fine and delicate mud works, it dawned on me how amazing these pieces were.  For not having the modern methods, tools, and ease, these people created artifacts that could have been produced today and no one would have questioned it. It got me thinking.  How much more do we not know?

My mind drifted to a history lesson I had heard in High School. The Spanish weren't interested in keeping the people strong with their local customs. The conquistadors were looking for gold and the priests were looking to convert Christians. No one was interested in hearing what the Mayans thought about it. Plus, after the first contact and the following plagues, the Mayans and most of the Americas were decimated. Places documented by the previous expedition having thousands and millions were now empty, dilapidated structures, abandoned and the reports were looked at as being exaggerated. Thus, though a comedy of errors, along with luck, greed and gunpowder these great nations of people were scattered. They were forbidden to speak, write, or pray to their Gods.  They were given Christian names, and taught Spanish. In North America the Buffalo were exterminated, the natives given small pox laden blankets, and hated by the Europeans who came to take their land.  Treaties were signed, ignored and greed proceeded to shape the world. Here's the point, to think that they are any less in any way to us does them a great disservice, you only need to look at their art.


To read more about the Maya people check out their Wiki page 


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70