Watercolour cat portraitssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

 A collection of my watercolour cat portraits:


I painted this one just over a year ago and it's my first cat portrait.  I wanted to paint my cat, Tassimo,  since I had made a painting of my dog.  My cat is a tortoiseshell and she has yellow/orange fur mixed with black fur.  I had been taught to veer away from using black watercolour paint (although I believe that rules are meant to be broken, in art at least) so I decided to opt for a different dark colour: Dioxazine violet.  I chose that colour because violet is the complemtory colour of yellow - which I knew that I'd be using.  I thought it would look interesting even though there's no such thing as a purple cat in real life :) I greyed the violet down a bit, though.




This painting was a present for a cousin of mine of her two cats, Hunter and Trapper.  It was fun to try and capture their expressions, and I'd like to think that I succeeded at making them look furry and fuzzy :)  Again, I used more vibrant and saturated colours instead of greys and black - I think it makes the painting more lively and exciting! 




This is Tiffy, my Grandma's kitten.  My Grandma wanted a custom painting since other family members were getting paintings ;)  I created the dark colour by mixing indanthrene blue with quinacridone coral and a tiny bit of yellow.  I also continued the blue and coral in the background.  I used a white gel pen for the whiskers, fur, and the other white details.



I hope you enjoyed this post.   All feedback and upvotes are very much appreciated!


Cheyenne Christensen


Sort:  

wow these are beautiful!

Thank you, Yog!

Congratulations @artbycheyenne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36