Under the Sun

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Original watercolour painting "Under the Sun" and painting progress stages:



When I have an idea for a new painting, I like to make a rough sketch of it and try out some colours on a piece of scrap, or sketch paper.  Once I've chosen the the right colours, I make a better drawing and transfer it onto watercolour paper.



When my final drawing is on the watercolour paper, I think about what I'm going to paint first.  In this case, I painted the first layer of the horse's body, then the background.  

When the first layers had dried, I wasn't pleased with the hard line that had formed around the mane and tail, so I got out my Mr. Clean magic eraser (which works like a charm to lift up colour) and softened those edges.



I continued to work on the horse's body, building up shadows and form.  Then I added another layer to the background,  but I didn't like how it looked... something about it just didn't work for me.  So, again, I got my magic eraser, and gently lifted up the background (mainly the orange around the horse).  Once I did that, all was good again.  Yay! :)



When I had finished the body, I decided to glaze yellow onto the background, and add white details to the horse with a gel pen.  

I wanted the painting to have the feeling of strong and hot sunlight... not sure if I succeeded, but it was a great learning experience.  Nothing is a loss if it taught you something! :)




All feedback, and constructive criticism is welcome, and appreciated!


Wishing you peace,

Cheyenne

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64