How To Source Art

in #art6 years ago

Why is Sourcing Art important?

You see most people both old nor new members, seem to forget that we have a "Community Guideline" or "Rules" one of these rules is Art Sourcing.

But why is art sourcing important?

It is to show respect and proper crediting to the artist who worked on the piece. Do you like it when some random guy uses your work and doesn't even mention you?

Why is this a problem here?

I've seen countless of post, favourites and just about everything that has art that isn't credited. This ties in to a big problem in the art world, which is "Art Theft". It may not seem important to most people but its very important for artists that worked hard on their piece.

Common Excuse and Problems

Here are the most common excuses I've heard from people who couldn't find an art works source.

"I don't know how to do it."

"But I found it on ifunny, memejunk and etc"

"I found it on Google images."

There's also the occasional "people" that straight up refuse to source, retaliating with words such as "No, Fuck you." And there's also the straight up Art Thief who steals someone's artwork and calls it their own. These two types disgust me so much.

So now that we've settled with why this is a problem, lets work on how to Source properly.

See this stunning image of Yasuho? Its clearly not mine so this is how I'm gonna source it.

Step 1 : Use a Reverse Image Search. I use this, but there are probably other ones you can use.

Step 2 : Depending on what website you use, each have different steps. Here's how the one I use works.

I press Upload Image and it will send me results for the search.

I will then check out each link to see which one was the original pic.

This one from DevianArt seems to be the original pic, so I copied the link of this page. So when I want to share this pic here, I do this.

Step 3 : Paste the link and name it source or however you like, just let people know that is the source of the pic.

And you're done! Its quite simple. I still dont get the fact why is it so hard for some people.

Now take care citizens and learn to source properly. -Judge Gaztronaut

Sort:  

Sourcing an image doesn't make it ok to "steal it", it's just a slightly more polite form of theft. You still have to get permission from the copyright owner to post their image somewhere.

This is true. It's the best step; ask the artist if it is okay to repost their work in another place.

thanks for sharing how to do art easily.

You are welcome @art-anime

hopefully useful for you.

It is HIGHLY important to source art. It is HOURS of sketching, inking/lining, and coloring the piece. The least you could do to the artist is mention them when you use their drawings...
Artists are already a degraded and often underpaid (or even NEVER PAID) for their stuff so yes, sourcing, mentioning and crediting their work when you post it somewhere else is already the best you could do if you don't buy their art or anything...

Just my two cents! Have a nice day.
Good post raising awareness for everyone about artists' struggles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61746.46
ETH 3447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50