Shading and its importance in the art of sketching. How shading can bring weight to your drawings. Different stages of a sketch with pictures.

in #art6 years ago

Its been almost a month and half that I have been working on my sketching and drawing skills. At the start, I was all about drawing and sketching only. I did not pay much attention to the shading part because at that time, I did not know how important is shading for making drawings look more beautiful and realistic.

Now after sketching for a month and half, I noticed that shading is a very important part of art of sketching. Shading can bring weight to your drawings and sketches. At first, I only wanted to sketch and draw things as I see them. Most of my old sketches and drawings as I see them now, I consider them incomplete. They look good but they don't feel to be realistic or eye catching because they are missing a very important part of them i.e, shading.

Shading makes drawings and sketches to look even more pleasing to the eyes. Sometimes our sketches does not look good because either we have not shaded them or did a very little bit of shading work on them.

At the very starting days, my sketches were not so good and I thought that it will get better and better with time which is right, but I could have made them look better with a bit of shading them.

This time I made a sketch of a cute little puppy and I took pictures of it at different stages of it which I will share with you guys to make you understand that a little bit of refining can make a huge difference in how your sketches and drawings may look. So here it is,

Step 1 :

The very first step is to draw the outlines of what you are sketching. This is one of the most important stage of sketching in which you will make sure to draw every part of your sketch in equal proportions to each other.

20180128_003156.jpg

This step is the base of the sketch. Good base means good final results. And everyone knows how important it is to have a solid base in order to construct a strong structure or building.

Step 2 :

In this picture, you can see with a bit of refining work the sketch is looking better as compared to first picture. A little shading work is done too which helps it to look better but still not complete.

20180128_012812.jpg

Step 3 :

In this picture, 50% of the shading is almost done and it looks much much better than the second picture. You can see with every bit of shading the sketch is evolving a lot.

20180128_014344.jpg

When I took this picture, I thought I am done with my sketch(as you can see I wrote the name as well) but something was striking at the corner of my head, giving me a feel that it is still not complete and after reviewing it for some minutes, I realized something is still missing. So, I did a little bit of more shading work on it and I saw huge difference when I compared both pictures.

Final Step :

By comparing all the pictures, I was amazed and confused as well that how every little effort I did on it changed the overall look of it so much. And after seeing the final results I can say it is worth the time I put into this sketch. So, here is the final picture,

20180128_015150.jpg

Taking pictures of sketches and drawings after every stage of development is a good way to notice the improvement in them after every step. And don't neglect the shading part and make your drawings and sketches look better and more realistic by performing a little bit of shading work on them. As we all know with a bit of refining process done on Carbon, can transform it into Diamond. So we can also transform our Carbon looking drawings and sketches into Diamonds and Gems by doing a little bit of refining and shading work on them.

I hope you understand my point regarding importance of shading.

Don't forget to give your feed backs. Thank You.

Regards,

Arslan Hyder.

Sort:  

very nice sketch. i always like your post. you are working hard. may you get success in your mission.

Thank you for the words of motivation.... :))

Nice art work

I love this cute puppy ! Great sketch

i like it. nice post

Thank you.... :))

Congratulations @arslanhyder! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You got a 1.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @arslanhyder!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75