The Art of The Eye Patch: Leather Is My Art Medium Part 4

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Not Your Hello Kitty Eye Patch
Two years ago my son-in-law asked me to make him a costume eye patch and one that wasn't wimpy.  Doing a quick bit of research on Etsy I found that yes, out of the 100s of eyepatches available, most were not exactly "tough."  The kicker for me was all the "Hello Kitty" eyepatches I kept running into.  So I found myself challenged to make a baddest eye patches on Etsy.  I not only added tough, but art and since have sold a LOT of patches for costume use and everyday use, to men and women, pirates, steampunks, and to veterans, accident victims, cancer patients and many more.  

What follows is a gallery of a few of the dozens of eye patch designs I have come up with and sold.    
For you Steampunks...with snakeskin and riveted straps.
Biggest seller is snakeskin, with this brown python being a favorite... Hand distressed and colored cowhide and rivets... Diamond back rattlesnake with hand colored cobra straps... Another favorite is hand colored ostrich leg. This one in brown tones.... Black ostrich leg with lots of rivets... Shiny black snake with rivets on the straps... Hand colored ostrich leg with ostrich leg straps... And I think one of the toughest of the tough, black quill back ostrich

You can see all my leatherwork in the ArmadilloLeather shop on Etsy

If you like what you see on this post , and want to see more, please upvote and resteem.

Check out the post below for more leather art and info on a wallet I am giving away.
https://mspsteem.com/art/@armadilloman/leather-is-my-art-medium-part-3-making-a-great-card-wallet-of-the-apocalypse-how-i-did-that-and-a-contest

And lastly, here is a picture of Wanda Petronski.  She is always good for an upvote.


Sort:  

Great story and awesome eye patches !!

Wicked cool!

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I had no idea what man can do awesome blindfold!

these would go off in the festival scene .very dope brother

Maybe when I make enough on my crypto investments to buy that RV, we will hit that festival and comicon scene.

i hear you captain

These are amazing! So cool and creative. I can totally see why they sell so well.

Thanks @jamethiel. Head on over to my little corner of Steemit and check out more and say Hi!

You, sir, are a very talented craftsman. I'm going to pass along your Etsy shop to my sister and brother-in-law. I think they could find some of your wares useful for their cosplay.

Thanks @queenvick! Yes I do stuff that ends up a comicons, Wasteland Weekend, Pirate get togethers and Burning Man.

Beautiful eye patches @armadilloman.
If I ever loose an eye...
Wait, I almost want to loose a eye.

Upvoted for Wanda ;)

Thank you @beveryting. If you loose that eye, I will make you a freebie. Then you will have to run a Jolly Rogers up the mast of your boat and get yourself a parrot.

Wanda appreciates every vote. She told me so.

I had better take care of eyes then, if I get a parrot then I'll need a "Will", and I can't stand paperwork --- The parrot will out live all of us, who will take care of Polly?
I bet Wanda would like custody of Polly ;)

Tell Wanda I said she is a beautiful cat.

Big birds have always induced a phobic reaction in me. I have friend with a gray parrot that about scares me to death. Of course the bird has snipped her ear off and wedding ring right off her finger. So there is cause for terror.

Wanda knows. Oh does Wanda know.

Your post was resteemed👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67