Leather Is My Art Medium -- The Great Bag of the Apocalypse Part 1-- A stash bag for the Wasteland Weekender among us

in #art6 years ago

Where does the post-apocalyptic guy or gal carry their phone, cigarettes, wallet and stuff?  Well in a post-apocalyptic belt/shoulder bag of course!


I took off a few days from all the commissioned projects and did something to clear my head a bit (if you can imagine such a thing could do that) and made a small bag that had been haunting my brain for quite a while.  I don't generally draw any plans or patterns before I start something new, just mull it around in my head so long that I know pretty much exactly what it is before I make it.  And I also head off in new directions while I am making an item if the material just leads me (which is sometimes astray, sometimes in a magical direction I could not have imagined).  

This project works out the details that I can scale up to much larger item such as a purse or messenger bag if I like or I can find someone who will actually pay me enough to cover the large amount of labor it takes to make something like this.  Any takers?  I will sell for STEEM!



The leather starts out as plain ol' blank uncolored, untextured cowhide . Every bump, divot, wriggle and scriggle on it, I put there.  The colors of extreme wear, mess and abuse are all put down on the leather by me.  I will take you through the process of making this bag when I post Part two which will be a "how I made that photo" blog. 


The fantasy element of the "Mad Max Frankenbag" pictured is that some craftsman, after the total collapse of everything, still is piecing together items from the leather of who knows what and makes items, as he would, reflecting the times he lives in and the materials at hand.  Perfect for you war boys and gals to carry your important stuff, either on your belt or over your shoulder, on the way to the bullet farm.


Make sure to give me a follow if you have not already so that you will not miss Part 2 where I will show the process to make this bag.  I will get that posted when I have the time next week.  At the moment I am making a hat that I know you will want to see. So stay tuned....

Sort:  

Good Stuff!

due to the awesomeness of this...
you've been upvoted & resteemed by

: : fREeSTEEMer : :

a free resteemer of great posts

Reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,600+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. It's free. @a-0-0 😊

That turned out great! You might advertise it on Dystopia Rising fb groups if you are looking to make more like it.

Dystopia Rising? Thats a new one to me. I will check it out. Thanks you @jamethiel for stopping by!

They LARP the end of the world and have events for they get together in their post-apocalyptic outfits. Cool and creative costumes are popular with the folks I know who play. Think SCA, but for post-apocalyptic world. :)

Like Wasteland Weekenders, only more often then once a year I guess. And I see that dystopia rising is a popular Etsy search, so something I can use there. Thanks for the heads up, @jamethiel!

Glad to help!

looks like that would last forever, super rugged design!
It may be me being a mega scruffbag crusty but I quite like the inside texture and raw leather colour, if that's what it is. I may have to set up and autovote for your posts because I think I end up voting on them all manually anyway!

Thanks Rob! Ha! Guess what? I color the inside to look like that. Its actually sponge painting with dye on a piece of thin cowhide I used as a lining to hold everything together while I stitch and rivet. I do use that technique of coloring on the insides of a lot of things that I just don't want one color. Maybe I should think up a project to do that on the outside. Hmmmm, now you got me thinking....

Hi, @armadilloman
This post selected and upvoted by free upvote bot @topbooster

Gorgeous! I think that would hold my pistol nicely!

Yes but in keeping with the theme and look it would need to be a very beat up j-frame with a homemade grip.

"The Mad Max FrankenBag" what a cool name, it looks great too. A lot of work went into it obviously. Waiting for part 2 the details of the process.
oh yeah, thanks for trying our service. :-)

You've received an upvote from a @slothicorn! Neigh neigh! Click here to learn more! (@justatouchfey) ((.)ω(.))

Wow! Great! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62622.35
ETH 2442.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64