Leather is My Art Medium -- Making The Most Epic Steampunk Hat Part 1 -- An Armadilloman Leather Craft Gallery

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I get a commission to make some pretty interesting stuff sometimes.  I just finished up the latest which was an attempt to make the "most epic steampunk hat."  


Here in the part 1 post is a photo gallery of the completed hat.  I have 30 photos of the process to make this hat I will post in part 2 when I have time.  



This is a patch work hat made of little pieces of leather stitched and riveted together into a hat shape.  Each piece started out as a plain unfinished piece of 3 oz vegetable tanned cowhide. 


The leather was hand textured, colored and distressed before cutting the parts and assembling as a hat.  



I have made quite a few of these hatbands and this is the version with the brass cased compass and the small apothecary bottles.  Each one of my hatbands are unique in tooling as well as ornamentation.  


Stay tuned for part 2 where I will show you the very involved process to make this, the most epic of steampunk hats.




"Armadilloman's leather craft posts are puuuuurfect" -- Wanda Petronski

To maximize my time, I do most of my upvoting and following through Steem Engine.  You should too! 


Sort:  

greetings good publication

Waoo me quede asombrada. Un trabajo tan realista, con tanta fuerza y detalles . Te felicito de verdad que me gustó es bueno ver algo nuevo algo que asombre para bien. Saludos luz fermin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99