'New Moon' My Latest Digital Painting

in #art5 years ago

Hello, everyone! It's been a while since I shared art with you, and it's been a really long time since since I made a digital painting instead of my usual cartoony character creations. I made this next piece as a present for my mother's birthday, since she loves the moon and night sky, especially in fantasy settings. It's titled 'New Moon' because it depicts a bright young moon growing from a flower.

It's simple, but I like how it came out. For Christmas, I should try something even more challenging.

Before I go, let me tell you a bit about how this piece came to be. Usually, my process includes a lot of ideation, like making thumbnails. I pretty much knew the composition and subject for this piece from the start, but it actually started as just a very basic night sky:

I knew I wanted something like this, but more unique and with some fantasy sprinkled in. I basically threw this quick painting out and started anew, and finally came to this basic idea:

And that became the basis for the final piece! It's cool to see where it started and how it ended up. There's actually a certain unique charm to how simple this concept sketch is, but I'm still very happy with the end result as well.

If you have any feedback, please let me know! I really should improve my art more, and any help is appreciated.

Sort:  

I like how you took the moon and turned it into some kind of a tree.

I like how you took
The moon and turned it into
Some kind of a tree.

                 - ahmadmanga


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you! I thought the idea of something as ethereal and out of reach like a moon growing on something as grounded and common as a plant was really interesting and subversive.

It was a good idea~

Congratulations @arjendesign! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79