Second entry "Odin!" for "Learn to Draw with Friends" Art Contest ... and a tutorialsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemians


"Learn To Draw With Friends" Art Contest by @tonyr is back with a great initiative.
This week the theme for the contest is "Vikings!".
The link to the contest is shown below:


https://steemit.com/art/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-six-vikings-guest-judge-w0olf-sbd-prizes-to-be-won


For those who are not familiar with it:

Essentially, tonyr provides 3 pictures in the contest link (along with the image credits). There are Amazing Art works on the contest, and you can either submit one of your drawings or vote on other participants' drawings. In addition to that there is a great initiative, so do try to join the contest and support @tonyr and his new initiative.

For the 2nd entry, I have attempted the Intermediate option "Odin!!!"
(referring to the picture shown in the link above)

I experimented with some color pencils again and below is my attempt.
Hope it came out okay.





Below are some Close-Ups of the drawing:


Top part of the drawing


Bottom part of the drawing


Thought it would be interesting to incorporate the hashtag of the contest and my username somewhere in the drawing



Here is an animated gif of the drawing process



Here are some progress pictures


To start off, I began a rough sketch in pencil.


I prefer drawing from the top and going down.
There was actually more detail required for this option then I had expected and this part took a long time.


And then some fine tuning


The pencil drawing is almost ready


Once the pencil drawing is complete. I start using color pencils



The color in method that I go with is to outline the areas of the drawing in the color that will form the most part of that particular area. For example the colour that forms most part of Odin's armour seems to be a gold-yellow color, hence I would outline Odin's armour in yellow initially.

After the outline of colour is completed, I would then make use of more shades of the particular color and other colors to color in the drawing.

I realized that I had a limited selection of color pencils, and sometimes I had to use 2 of my color pencils to bring out a 3rd color effect, which was interesting to experiment with and a great learning experience with the mixture of colors.



Here the top part of the drawing is almost done. However, it has taken me a long time so it is recommended to take a break occasionally so that I can continue with a refreshed mind.

To me, drawing is generally a 'marathon' and not a 'sprint', so I prefer to take breaks here and there and draw it over several days so that I have the energy and mindset to continue.
If I treated it as a 'sprint' and try to rush it over a short time,
it may not result in what I had in mind initially.

And now, continue coloring in...



Nearly there...





The drawing can be considered done at this point.
However, I now have a habit of incorporating hashtags of the contest and my username in the drawing, so here it goes:


And this is it:


Thanks for reading my post and hope that you like it.



If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!



Sort:  

Very well done @apprentice001! The shading and texture is really detailed. Also love the tag incorporation as always. :-)

Thanks @steempowerpics for your kind words and support! It has almost became a habit to incorporate the tags. Have an awesome day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemPowerPics from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you very much @minnowsupport! I really appreciate the support. Have a great day!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks @drotto for your support! I really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48