Love Is Power, Because We Can't Fight Fire With Fire - Drawing on MLK Jr. For My Promotion of Non-Violent, Unconditional Love Spreading During Violent Times

in #art8 years ago (edited)

"Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that." - MLK Jr.

Maybe it is just me, but I feel like in the past few years I have seen a surge in violence. Also, maybe it is just the news channels covering more violence than the past, but either way I feel it in our psyche. Many of us have either become numb to violence, sighing at the news of a new university mass shooting and then continuing with our morning coffee, or some of us have become angry. And people have a right to become angry. There are segments of the population who are being targeted for the color of their skin, their motherland, or the people they love. However, in the wake of violence being used to combat violence, I can only think in terms of MLK Jr.'s beautiful words:

"I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality... I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word." -MLK Jr.

Because love is power, because we can't fight fire with fire. Have you ever seen a wildfire? It's terrifyingly powerful...raging on for days, feeding on anything in its path. How do we put out wildfires? It is not with more fire...but rather with its opposite. We pour so much water over that fire that it no longer has space to grow. In the same way, I believe we need to pour so much love over the hate and violence we are currently seeing so that it no longer has space to grow. Because hate grows on hate, and rage will only feed rage.

"Nonviolence means avoiding not only external physical violence but also internal violence of spirit. You not only refuse to shoot a man, but you refuse to hate him." -MLK Jr.

I woke up this morning to my friend sharing a beautiful video on Facebook, and I want to share it today on Steemit. I am not usually one to share non-original content, but I want to spread the love and this video was an extremely powerful manifestation of love drowning out hate. It is of a "free hugs" man in Cleveland giving out free hugs to all. This video focuses on him giving free hugs to cops, and shows their responses. I believe it is a beautiful demonstration that when you put love out in the world, you receive love back. Even further, when you shine out love, you give others the permission to shine out their own love. Also, in the wake of reading some hate speech on Steemit, I believe violent words are just as dangerous as violent action, so I propose we manifest that love on Steemit.

"Violence as a way of achieving racial justice is both impractical and immoral. I am not unmindful of the fact that violence often brings about momentary results. Nations have frequently won their independence in battle. But in spite of temporary victories, violence never brings permanent peace." -MLK Jr.

Here is the video, titled "Why Are We Killing Each Other?" - provided by the Free Hugs Project:

Here is to spreading the love in your heart, home, Steemit, neighborhood, country and world!
All artwork is original

Sort:  

We need more of this on Steemit.

Love to cover racism?it's not enough...

I hear you. I am not saying that we should just sit around and love and that alone will conquer racism...there are many different manifestations of love, just like with saw with MLK Jr.!

Puting this atention into racism, is just making it stronger. Let's be the change and lead by example

Yes! This is what I was taught about manifestation. For example...if you keep on thinking to yourself "I hate the extra fat on my body. I don't want to be fat" You will remain fat, because you are putting energy into the fat, even if it is negative energy. Versus, if you keep thinking to yourself "I love my body and how fit I already am and will continue to become more and more in shape" then that is what will happen because that is where the energy is going. Same concept applies to racism and hatred.

good post @anwenbaumeister
lovely video FREE HUGS for all steem users 8]

Thanks! LOL yes free hugs for all steem users!

This is so great, and so important right now when the world is full of fear. We're all here to feel loved. Good stuff!

Yes we are! Thanks for the affirmation!

Great post. I'm trying to spread some love, and do the right thing. I've had a fucked up emotional roller coaster of a day, but then got a big tip and that pushed me over the edge. From now on I'm giving back to the Steemit community. HUG for ya Anwen :)

I'm so glad that you're spreading the love and are in the Steemit community. A hug right back for you!

I love your drawings, thanks for sharing.

Understand darkness has up the ante in recent times because its is terrified of the light, these are its last-ditch attempts to keep us in fear.

just as a flame of a lamp flickers wildly , before it completely burns out.

there will be increase of more violence around the world before it self destructs and darkness is running out of terror scenarios the more they terrorize the more it is loosing its effect

humanity is going through a stage called "dark night of the soul"
It shall surely pass have faith, KEEP BELIEVING.

I FEEL A BIG CHANGE IS COMING!

A very beautiful take on what is happening, I believe a change is coming as well, thanks for sharing!

I would like more such posts. Thank you!

Me as well...let's make them! :-)

Only for love. Excellent post!

Anyone think they know where the violence starts from in the first place? Violence begets violence but where is it beginning?

Hmm interesting question. I am not sure if this answers it but it is a really interesting TED talk comparing violence to contagious diseases: https://www.ted.com/talks/gary_slutkin_let_s_treat_violence_like_a_contagious_disease?language=en

same, i am happy join steemit

I am happy you joined steemit too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 66884.44
ETH 3466.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19