DualitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Duality.jpg

Another illustration from my book Kaos Hieroglyphica. I play on several themes in this representation of duality.

One might notice the swirling pattern of the taijitu, with its representation of the yin and yang, the light and shadowy sides of the mountain, and the movement implied as the sun arcs across the sky. However, in the place of dots we have a pentagon and an apple. The apple is the apple of Discord and this tells us that the image is not a direct reference to the taijitu at all, but rather to the Sacred Chao, a holy symbol of Discordianism, representing the balance of hodge and podge, order and disorder, eternally cycling in the Chao. Of course the Discordians were themselves referencing the taijitu, and so we can say this image represents both.

I have also included the alchemical symbols for Salt and Sulphur, from the alchemical tria prima. The third symbol in this triad is Mercury and here the symbol of the egg acts as a standin. In anycase the egg does appear as a symbol for Mercury in some alchemical texts. You may have notices the egg at the center of the four elements image. This is because the egg also symbolises the quintessense, or ether, considered by the ancients the substance of the stars. The egg is a central theme of the book. It represents an outgrowth from the Monas Hieroglyph of Dr John Dee, which appeared in his treatise Monas Hieroglyphica. The name of my book references his.

I am working through these images backwards, heading back to the source. I'm not entirely sure why. I felt inspired to do it this way.

Sort:  

Cool work, you created some interesting struktures there :)

Thanks. It is strange because I was nervous to share this one because of the almost amatuerish hashing in the black shaded region. If I was drawing this image today I would have used a more solid ink, perhaps even touched it up digitally. And yet this is the image of them all with the highest reward! It just goes to show that we artists can be our own harshest critics...

I know that weird feeling, when you produce some art and the people like the things most which I do not like. :D

I appreciate these images. I am using my art to understand magick, since I have no formal training.

Magical training tends to be a self-motivated and solo afair, even when guided by a mentor or group. So it sounds like you are on the right track. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I should probably mention that the serpent and unicorn are also of personal significance as symbols of duality. I will explore that later...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78