Austin Osman Spare illustration

in #art7 years ago (edited)

austin_osman_spare_1908_by_antonchanning.jpg

I originally made the central illustration for the second edition of Jaq D Hawkins 'Understanding Chaos Magic'. It also appeared in the German translation. It is based on a photo of artist and sorcerer Austin Osman Spare taken in 1908. Later I decided to add the various creatures around the border. Each of these are copies by me of illustrations originally made by Austin Osman Spare himself. This version was then published in Oracle Occult Magazine.

I then digitised the image and added the fractal border you see here. I uploaded this final version to my deviantart gallery in 2005.

Sort:  

Anton! Great stuff as usual. I think you would gain more ground though if you tagged actual topics - art, drawing, life - I am pretty sure "occult, magick, and the others are not yet real tags, so to gain ground here you might want to use "life", "drawing", and figure out another topic from the list that applies - that means people will SEE your stuff... blessings! Joanna

Anything works as a tag. Look: #magick #occult

I know some of these aren't popular right now. And perhaps I'm sacrificing some short term ground. But I follow both those tags looking for new people to build up those communities. Also, I eventually plan to fix the wordpress plugin to allow it to draw posts from a given tag instead of from a specific username. Then I'll add such streams to my website, and it will be good if there is a history of such content already in existence.

Congratulations @antonchanning! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74