Rubi - Step by step WITHOUT GRAPHIC TABLET

in #art6 years ago

ffff.gif

Hello! As I had promised, here is the step by step illustration that I uploaded on Monday. First of all, I would like to tell you what I was inspired into to do this work. At first I thought I wanted to make a series of portraits of women, I wanted them to look like Mahō Shōjo (magical girl), it immediately occurred to me it would be a good idea that the girls were related to precious stones and that each girl had an specific stone. I started my portraits choosing the ruby ​​as the first precious stone, since it is my favorite. And of course, the color palette chosen is related to this gem, which is why warm and intense colors stand out a lot.

Now, let's start with the step by step:

1. First I made a sketch of the portrait in pencil, I did this with the support of an image that served me as a reference to achieve the angle of the face I wanted (I usually find good references on Pinterest).

1.jpg

2. Then I took a photo of the sketch to be able to work with it digitally. For digital drawing I use an ordinary tablet (because I don't have a graphic or drawing tablet) and the MediBang Paint app. After opening the photo in the drawing application, I applied the base color of the skin and using other layers I made the shadows and blush on the skin, I also made the outline of eyes, nose and mouth and applied the base color of the lips.

3.jpg

3. Then I concentrated on the eyes, I made many details such as upper and lower eyelashes, shine and makeup. I also painted the eyebrows, to make them look as real as possible I drew each hair separately. At this point I also added shine to the lips and other shadows on the face to make it look more real.

5.jpg

4. Time to make the hair. First I used a base color for the hair, then I applied shadows and lights on it; in principle I applied the colors in form of stains. Little by little and with a lot of patience, I made the details trying to make it look like real hair. (This part was the hardest).

Webp.net-gifmaker (1).gif

5. Then I took care of the background, the chest and the diadem. I painted the entire background with a single color and focused on the neck, shoulders and chest area, adding base color, shadows and highlights. I also made the outline of the diadem, I colored it and made some details. I also added more lights and shine to the face and I drew freckles all over the skin.

13.jpg

6. Finally I adjusted the colors saturating them a little. I intensified the colors to achieve the tone I wanted, I also adjusted the contrast so that the tones could be seen better. I added the ruby ​​to the diadem and my signature.

15.jpg

I hope you liked my post. With it I want to show you don't need to have a drawing tablet to get good results making drawings or digital illustrations. You can support me by voting for the post and leaving me comments :3

❤ Thank you very much! ❤ezgif-5-13cee31438.gif

Sort:  

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Really nice work! I love your digital painting! Do you you like other technics too? or just digital? :3

Oh thank you! x3 I also like to use watercolors @sadlittlecloud

@drlove loves your drawing and has given you and up-vote.

Share the love by up-voting this comment to help others on the steemit platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63