Professional Portfolio Building - RiotGames Based Design - Trendar, The Nomad Merchant Day4

in #art6 years ago

Hello Folks !

This time I showed my concept to few of my fellows asking for some feedback, the result was an interesting proposal to make different approach back to the previous stage of silhouettes and make it more interesting. I also did some big changes regarding to the whole lore of this character. Let's go to it!


body_proportions.jpg

This project is going pretty pretty slow, but this is also because of the lack of time from my side and mostly the lack of tools for working.

It started pretty well, fast and dope. But I rapidly became discouraged because on my current workstation (which is basically a laptop and a Wacom Intuos) I cannot really get into my work. I feel my workspace is simply too tiny and it really affects my productivity.

Not to say that I am the only MOFO that clean in this house (where I am living with three more people) and this makes me lose a lot of time.

I also got SEVERAL work offers in the last period of time and I have to put some extra time on these. I know,
I know... you are asking yourself "why did you accept more job if you have a full calendar already?"

Well the answer is to not fall behind. See, I want to always get better and in order to do that I gotta always push the limits. So now I will have several less time and energy. Not to say that I am not being allowed to share what I am working on. If this would be the case it would be awesome because I could share daily updates. BUT NO.


AAAANYWay...

Here we are and this is what we got ATM.

It is a mix between the upper body of the number 10 and the legs-pants of number 14.

What is interesting about this one is the readability of the hat-helmet. Which is really important in order to have an interesting design that is both recognizable and original for keeping the originality of the character itself. So this means that as soon as you give a fast look to the screen and see this character, you will recognize it, no matter what.

I also had a dilemma at this point.

And that dilemma is that the whole lore of the character wasn't really fitting the looking or style of it. Which means (since we are just having fun with this guy, it is a personal project and it is not for a client) that we will change the lore, yeeey!

I don't really have it developed, but probably I will keep everything the same with the exception that instead being Trendar the Nomad Merchant it will probably be Trendar, the Unlucky Fisher-yordle.

I will be back to this soon and develop a new lore for it, but keeping the whole idea kinda the same. The look from the character is now better defined now (at least) and we will be able to do some explorations based on it.

Still, this is all what I got until now and I hope you like it until now so far. This also shows how hard is to find an original and solid design for a character when you want to do an extensive research for your creation.

Although I have a feeling that this will look pretty cool. The next character will be a lady, a very sexy one!

Thanks a lot for your support and I see you in the next one!



(All the images are my own creation and therefore I own their rights)


presentation_ending_2_s.jpg



I always try to listen to the ideas of my fellow followers to improve my posts and to give something back to the community... therefor: What would you like the next posts to be about? What should I talk about? What kind of painting? Would you like some tutorials about arts, about cooking? Maybe some fresh gaming broadcast? I would love to know!

I apologize if I don't reply to your message. Sometimes I can't find enough time for it. But you can be sure that I will read it!

Bye!

Sort:  

I want to always get better and in order to do that I gotta always push the limits.

True dude, i also try to do do the same, always keep pushing yourself so you can be the best version of you that you can be
Haven't been able to post comments, damn steem bandwidth is really bad latelly

Oh no worries, I barely have time to connect to steemit lately, and if I do... my whole schedule goes to the F*** D:

awesome arts my friend, simply awesome, i wonder how more awesome they will look when you have complete tools and space, keep it going, we are looking forward to them

Let's hope I will soon ;)

The finishing will surely be like wow,nice start

Looks great so far! :)

Hah, good stuff, keep it coming.

Impressive! I like the process of working on the outline/silhouette for character design. Keep the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50