Daily WarmUp - Shall We Get Back to Dragons?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Shall we?


Since almost the beginning of my profession that the thing I used to draw at most was dragons. But almost two years ago I stopped.

This is of course a warm up and something i did for fun, but damn, how much I love dragons !

I didn't go further with this one, but I am thinking about doing some studies of different shapes for dragons and creatures. You wouldn't believe how amazing different shapes you can get from studies such as this one.

However, for such studies, I would analyze heads most likely. Since you can change them FAIRLY more than the body itself. I mean, you can make a six, eight legged dragon of course, or four wings for instance, or super small body and big head (Actually these are amazing ideas for my next studies), but the head... damn, SO many variations!!

6.jpg

Actually you can find such thing in nature: check all known tetrapods. Most of them will vary in the different patterns that their fur or scales or skin may have, but the heads? It's absolutely right there where the main difference is between each other.

See, we are particularly good recognizing facial features, and this translates in minor scale to animals.

The best of all is that the general shapes that you can apply to different animals also speak about their personalities (at least in our minds). This is why you could make a strong dragon, a weak dragon, a wise one, dumb one, fat, slim, old, young, happy, angry, sad or any kind of emotion. And it's not only related to dragons but to any other creature. This is where the duty of the artist also gets a little bit more complicated.

I think i will go on a little bit further with this one =)

Thanks a lot for your support and I see you in the next one!



(All the images are my own creation and so I own the rights of them)


presentation_ending_2_s.jpg



I always try to listen to the ideas of my fellow followers to improve my posts and to give something back to the community... therefor: What would you like the next posts to be about? What should I talk about? What kind of painting? Would you like some tutorials about arts, about cooking? Maybe some fresh gaming broadcast? I would love to know!

Bye!

Sort:  

wow amazing art,, i appreciate your post...thanks for sharing...best of luck..

Dragons are some of the most magical creatures but are they real or mythical?

Well, I will leave that up to you ;)

i love dragons also , nice drawing even you did it as a fun :)

dragons r awesome! i got a bunch of "science" books bout dragons their habits they anatomy etc its rly intresting but unfortunally im not the best one drawing any animal

hahaha that sounds cool! I think I have seen few!

I recommend you to see the artworks and designs from Terryl Whitlatch... she is absolutely GORGEOUS

Thanks for telling me shes absolutely amazing just seen a bunch of her creature designs!

That's an interesting face on that dragon. I usually draw a classic long snout with horns.

Hey! Maybe you can share your design! It woul dbe interesting to make an adaptation of it ;)

Congratulations @anritco! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post and picture
Keep it up & Keep Following @sohailomi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42