Daily Practice #15

in #art6 years ago

Hi Everybody !

Some days ago I uploaded one of my daily practices following the style of another creature concept design I made months ago. Now it's time to finish it!

I am thinking about reposting that old work since it was pretty nice and, at least in my opinion, original. I should in factwork on some more creaures of the kind and slowly build an universe around that!. That would be a great idea for a project to come =)

64_finished.jpg

This was thought to be a Decaying-Mud-Dragon-Golem, but it ended up looking more like a decaying-piece-of-cheese-that-you-just-took-from-the-turned-off-fridge. Or just a pizza. Damn I'd love a pizza right now.

This artwork ended up fulfilling its goal, which was to create a good palette of colors and blocking for the whole thing. Regarding to the design, there is no much of design in here. But it was a nice practice for line-art and materiality-texturing as well. So it's a win win since it meant a lot of fun!!

Untitled-1.png

You may be wondering why the skeleton, what's its functionality.

The skeleton here plays an important role since it gives the sense of scale. Because if I put a paperclip at one side of the creature, it will be the size of a coin. And if I put a mountain at its side, it will be the size of an asteroid. It is very important to bring sense of scale to our artworks, mostly if these are concept designs. That will be the difference between making something epic or something small and maybe even boring.

I am personally pretty happy about this one, because I made it sort of fast and fulfilling the things that it was made for. Congrats to me! * Pats his own back *.

Untitled-1.png

This whole thing was meant to be a representation of undead magic. This is a summoned creature, created from mood and alive thanks to a golden big artifact that is upon its head.

The idea was that it was made by a dark mage or something of the kind. Dark Magic was the main protagonist and main idea behind it.

Again, I didn't spend too much time on the design, I just started, blocked it up and went straight to the battlefield to render ! Maybe I should have worked a little bit further on the design.

ANYWAY! Here is the process of the whole thing!

64.gif

Thanks a lot for your support and see you in the next one!

***



(All the images are my own creation and therefore I own their rights)
This post was first made on Whaleshares.io and you can see it here



Fellow steemian, did you miss the opportunity of being among the first in Steemit? What would you give for having another chance?

Then you are lucky, because you don't need to give anything for such opportunity!

Come to Whaleshares! Sign up today and claim your opportunity to become a whale right now!!

Join to the Official Whaleshares Discord and meet the community!!

***

Have a great day!

Sort:  

WHOA! Look who’s back! :P

Hahaha I never left! I was just working on some big stuff ;)

Which btw, if you are interested, drop me a PM in discord!

Just had an awesome anime idea, I'm not much of a big shot to make an anime myself though, great work btw

wow your artwork is so cool dude! i really love it, now i follow u

Hey nice to see you posting again...sometimes its good to take a creative break

I like it so much, nice work, and nice written. :)

I really like this style and I agree that it's a good idea to flesh it out into a world. You should give yourself more credit, it's easily recognizable as a mud golem (though a pizza golem would be a fun idea).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80