Drawing | Cat | First drawing on black paper

in #art6 years ago

20180603_124237.jpg

Some new materials for my drawings

Today I was shopping with my little girl to find her some personal pencils, as she always wants to use mine. So it was time to get her own set of pencils, and for these things we go to a very cheap shop nearby. While daddy was typing an important letter, we were wandering around in the shop together.
Soon I saw a package of black drawing paper, which I was thinking about buying for a while, as I see the most insane and beautiful artworks on black paper. I already have some pencils that can be used on black paper, so the only thing I needed was this.

The little girl needed some things too

While I'm drawing she always gets her colouring book and wants to join me. That's fine and fun, but she has her own crayons that I bought specially for her. I thought this was a good fit for a girl of her age, but she thinks otherwise. She always steals my pencils and uses them for her drawings too. But as they are special pencils (watercolouring) I found it time that she got her own small set of normal pencils. So I found a cheap set, with nice bright colours for her. I must say, for a cheap set they draw really nice, not like many other cheap pencils that scratch the paper. So that was a good buy. She immediately started drawing once we got home.. The sweetheart :-)

I wanted to test my black paper

It's kind of backwards drawing as you have to work the other way around. Because you are highlighting instead of making things darker while drawing. I searched online for a random drawing made on black paper, and I found a cat. It didn't seem to hard, so let's try it.. The process of the drawing is only one picture, as this is far less detailed than the things I normally make.

20180603_123143.jpg

I am not really pleased with my own skills here, but as it's my first attempt ever drawing on black paper, I thought I'd show it anyway. I can see it's a cat, and I see the similarities with the example for sure, but I guess I need a bit more difference in tints too to make this really good. Below the endresult once again...

20180603_124237.jpg

Next time I will try something different, I have to think about what would work best to learn drawing with the lighter colours on a dark background.

swushes-steem-green.png

anouk1.gif

Sort:  

So let me start with your lovely cat. I saw this and just fell in love. Sure it’s not flashy or a beautiful painting, but it has gorgeous charm in its simplicity. I so like the style. You must do more cats. I tried to do @supersoju’s diva cat (Soju) the other day. It’s for my Part 2 & Part 3 of my cat story, I am dedicating to that her sly kitty. It turned out UGLY!! I made Soju look like a freak! Lol. That’s why I switched over to my Dragonborn. Cats are hard for me!

Love your artistry, Boob-room leader. Lol ❤️

it has gorgeous charm in its simplicity

Exactly. I love how it highlights the most important parts of a cat's face.

hehehe now I'm intrigued to see what you drew @linnyplant
Feel free to pm me the image if you don't want to make it public. I'm sure Soju would have a good laugh when she sees it.

No, it’s awful!

This is really great @anouk.nox! Very well done! :)

Thank you! :)

Really nice drawing @anouk.nox!!! :D
I really like this minimalist piece and I love cats! hehehe

Congratulations @anouk.nox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love cats, when I saw this picture on selfpromotion channel, I immediately visit your page, I love it, it's simple yet cute & beautiful 💗

Great drawing Bro!

This is so cute :) I love how minimalistic this is and yet the picture says all it needs to say


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33