What Kind of A Mom Is Jelly of Her Son's Art?

in #art6 years ago

connor art 002.JPG

I was going through some boxes yesterday and I found this. An art project my middle son Connor did when he was 12 years old. It would fit right in beside The Andy Warhol’s in The Museum of Modern Art in New York. I wish I could make something that looks like this. it’s a silk screen and it is absolutely breathtaking in person. I need to get it framed and hang it up where I can see it everyday.

Favorite Kids Book Art Project

In grade 7 his teacher gave the students an art project based on bringing their favorite kids book to school. He picked the book called “Night Cars” that I always used to read to him before bedtime. The book was written like a lullaby, and is about a baby who wouldn’t go to sleep so his dad picks him up and shows him the night cars driving outside their window.

Connor has taped collages into the book and added his sketches and paintings and made it really cool. It is a keepsake to remember his art from grade 7. (He is now 24).

One day when he was in grade one, I went to see a play at The Surrey Arts Centre with a group of friends. Outside the theatre, the adjoining gallery had an exhibit on display of kid’s art. As I got a cup of tea and went to head back to my seat, I saw one of Connor’s screen prints framed and on display on the wall of the gallery. I was stunned. I had the screen print on display in my cabinet at home, but he didn’t tell me it had been picked to represent his school’s art at the gallery show, so it was a nice surprise!

Here is the screen print he did when he was 6:

connor art 004.JPG

I am in awe and a little bit jealous of his work. But mostly I am really proud of it, and wanted to share it with all my friends on Steemit.

photos are my own.

Sort:  

That's a perfect example of abstract art.
It reminds me of the time when I used to doodle.

I hope your son is still making art .

If he's consistent with this, I see him going places with his art

Sadly he hasn't done art in years. He was a great painter even from age 2. and used to make his own comic books and draw all the characters and create them. I have boxes of his stuff. I hope he starts again. He is playing music still. Thanks.

Wow, that's great. At least he's still doing a form of art.

I also stopped drawing, but I've been a writer ever since then.

I wish him success in his chosen field of endeavour.

Happy Sunday ma'am.

I hope you will show us some of your art and write about that sometime!

I believe I will.
Right now I'm focusing on my writing, but when the time comes I'll dust my pencils and pens and get back to it.

Loading...

Resteemed! You're the most supportive human on the mudball Ann Hoy! xoxo #OnlyJellywithPB ;)

You're better than PB and Jam! #thebest! #Michelly!

very nice handwork,
deserves to be appreciated

Thank You! His brother couldn't believe that he made it when he saw it! Kept feeling it with his hands to make sure he didn't cut it out of a magazine or something.

best wishes for you

appreciation for his son

Yeah. I think I dug the book out of the garbage because he had thrown it out after grade 7 and I wanted to keep it.

Awww that’s such a gorgeous piece of art! He truly has always been a well rounded artist!

That's so sweet of you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79