Forbidden Fruit

in #art7 years ago (edited)

f05f48bf-919d-4762-9f9d-8fad6ca38830.jpeg


My painting of Eve about to bite a pomegranate in the moonlight.
Pomegranate, pomum (apple) & granatus (seeds). Some theologians believe that the "real" forbidden fruit was a pomegranate (a common fruit in the middle east), rather than an apple (that bare's no fruit unless it's exposed to freezing temperatures for extended number of days).


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

I love it. In my Eden, it would probably be a persimmon =P

I second that. Persimmon is the greatest fruit right? Not quite as visually beautiful as a pomegranate for this painting though. You've done such a lovely job on this Anka :)

ooohh i love ripe persimmons, we used to have a persimmon tree in our backyard in russia, soo good.

That's right, the original forbidden fruit was a pomegranate. Persephone also ate 6 pomegranate seeds offered by Hades which bound her to the underworld.

damn this is dope.....acrylic? oil?

Thank you sir! Oil

this would tie in with Persephone and Demeter - the fruit that tied her to the underworld:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persephone#Abduction_myth
upvoted and resteemed

yes! and if you go deeper into the rabbit hole it also ties with the underworld and you get the duality between life/sexuality and death... which is why I made the lighting in the painting emulate nighttime - Lilith.

I remember Lilith - I was married to her once (almost killed me) 😱 .... kidding, of course. Maybe I shouldn't talk about my ex that way 😉

haha too late, she mast have been a femme fatale :) in all the good and bad ways.

So that's the blue rage thingy eh? 😛
Hehe amazing painting @ankapolo! 😃
resteemed and upvoted

haha! definitely part of the blue frenzy :D
Thank you @meloo182. for your support!
Means a lot me.

I love this... It strengthens the symbolic connection between Eve and Persephone. Nice work.

absolutely! Persephone, Eve and the fruit itself are all symbols for fertility, femininity and seduction.
BTW, i loved your videos, very esoteric and provocative experience.

thank you! 🙏💕

Very cool. Reminds me a little of a Caravaggio. I like the different blue hues! very cool!

wow, that's very flattering! thank you... i wish i had the skill to paint lighting as good, and with only candle light to aid me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 62719.50
ETH 2525.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70