The Viking of 6th Avenue

in #art7 years ago

I like to explore music, find new things. 

When I do that, the sky is not the limit. There is no limit. I enjoy almost all music styles, and which I settle on, depends mostly on my mood.

I love music. 

In one such exploration incident, I came across Moondog, also known as the Viking of 6th Avenue. A  musician, composer, poet, and inventor, who was blind since the age of 16.

I decided to paint him, or, to be more exact, to create a caricature portrait of Moondog.

While painting, I listened to the Moondog playlist I put together.

The music of Moondog of the 1940s and 50s is said to have been a strong influence on many early minimalist composers. Philip Glass has written that he and Steve Reich took Moondog's work "very seriously and understood and appreciated it much more than what we were exposed to at Juilliard". (Source)

A  feature-length documentary about his life and music is currently in production and should come out soon.


Prints of the Moondog portrait are available. If you are interested, simply contact me.

Sabina Nore
@anibas

Sort:  

Dope painting, amazing detail. Love this list, Moondog holds an important place in the history of American avant garde music & you're right the influence is vast. Thanks for sharing this!

My pleasure!
Yes, he was quite a unique character and artist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40