Alacritas

in #art7 years ago (edited)


It survived!


"Alacritas" (2016), 20 x 30 cm

This one was so close to dying, but it made it, against all odds. And I didn't make it easy for it.

I thought it was done. Then, to make a long story short, it turned out it wasn't. 

I got tired of it, wanted it gone, one way or another, so I decided to go experimental. Very experimental!  Life or death, whereas I was leaning towards death. I started covering it, messing with it, in various ways, thinking that, if it's meant to die, then die it will, and who cares. 

Then something miraculous happened. I looked at it, and it was suddenly too good to kill.
So I stopped.

I let it sit for some time, then I got it a frame.

Evidently, this is a strong little painting, which wanted to live, and so it did.

~~~Happy ending ~~~

Sort:  

Oooh weird and I like it a lot!!! Thanks for not killing this one it turned out so great.

Following you for more interesting art... thanks for sharing

Thank you @senorcoconut. Then, see you around.

You're very welcome @anibas

that paint really give me a Strange feeling between magic and fear.
WHere it can be seen?

Publicly, it was last shown at the Legacy of Light exhibition in Castle Gloggnitz.
At the moment, it's on display at my studio.

This is certainly the weirdest piece of yours. I'm wondering whether you can remember the impulse that made you paint her hair waving through the eye sockets.
It's obvious that this was a battle and that the painting got out of control, that your reason was not in charge as it usually is with your other pieces. But that's how a spark of novelty made it through your mental firewall!

I am not sure reason has much to do with my paintings, neither this one, nor any other. They come from elsewhere, which need not be defined. To define it, is to limit it, in this case. I may have an initial impulse or idea for a painting, that part may well have to do with reason, amongst other things, but the final painting almost always looks different in the end.

I was going to write, I don't like firewalls.
Instead, I looked up the definition of a firewall; dictionary, as well as encyclopedia.
Reading this sentence gave me pause:
"A firewall typically establishes a barrier between a trusted internal network and untrusted external network, such as the Internet."
So, alright. Yes.

In this particular case, the visual aspect is inspired by a photograph. I played around with my hair, and took a snapshot with the webcam. Bad lighting, bad quality photo, but that's ok, it was never meant to be a great shot.

I looked at the dates on those photos, it seems I started the painting shortly thereafter, because this webcam photo was taken on the same day as the above reference:

And this one on the following day:

Now, what caused me to play around the way I did, that's another question. This is the only such instance amongs my webcam shots. The other photos are all painting previews... :)

I think reason is involved when the artist is trying to encode messages and codes into his artwork, hidden, misleading or obvious. Reason is rooted in time as all thinking is; it's all about causality on the mental level. The origin of inspiration and creativity but is in the now which I see as an entirely different dimension than time. Reason is a filter or even a preventer for creativity. This painting made it through the filter, it's pure, even though it's quite disturbing.

Yes. I find paintings which are obviously rooted in reason quite boring.
Edit: The word "often" was missing (should be: "often quite boring"), and that bugged me.... Then again, the edited sentence may bug me too.

Like I said, mine aren't and this one is, in that sense, no exception.
Then again, paintings which are rooted in nothing can be equally boring.

You call this something else The Now, I have no name for it. The way I see it, it is not meant to be studied, spoken of, nor defined. That sort of abstraction brings it back into human structure, which aims to label and define everything and anything.

I think it cannot be explained nor understood through words, for, unless these words be poetry, they make it all theoretical, which, in turn, makes it disappear.

That's why we make poetry, music and art: to enter realms beyond thoughts and language. Nevertheless, I believe abstraction is a tool that can be very helpful to better understand the nature of our reality. And understanding is not a discipline limited to labeling and defining.

beautiful💋💋💋

Thank you!

I am so glad it made it :-) I like it a lot - though it makes me shudder a bit to look at it.

Strange but beautiful ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44