You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art and Creativity: The Saga of the Tormented Artist-- Is Suffering Required for Creativity?

in #art7 years ago

interesting question....
I personally can't write well when I am happy. At least not well enough...
Although I think that's because that's the amateur perspective to things. Professional writers are supposed to be able to write well no matter the circumstances.
In any case - no matter how ironic this may sound, but I think that the pain, the suffering, the challenges and heartbreak do contribute to the process of creating good art. BUt so are the drugs and alcohol...

Sort:  

The more I have explored this topic, the more it seems like people have different emotional responses.

Personally, I tend to suck under pressure and deadlines, and I'm more likely to sit in a corner in a catatonic state when I am depressed and/or mentally off-center. Although I have been writing for over 40 years... I am definitely not a professional!

I do believe the pain, torment, depression and torture can add "something" to the creative process, but I'm more inclined to experience that as "post fact," as in "back when I was depressed I had this great idea!" My chances of actually executing that while off center? Near zero.

Appreciate the thoughtful comment!

As @reddragonfly says I think it depends of the person. Art is something very personal. So everyone have their own answer.

In the game production field though, we can strive being in pain, tormented etc and putting most of those feelings aside sometimes, (no good if you are a depressed artist good at painting depressed ghosts and working on a comedy movie or game), but not under alcohol or drugs influence. I think that altering mind states can be good on the short term to have a quick release of .... production ?

But this will not show your true skills and the real 'you'. I am talking in an amateurish level, I guess shamans and people doing that regularly and with control can definitely do good, but the usual John might get to driven and lost in his own mindstate.

Yeah, sorry (I try to learn how to write little by little, I'm better at painting haha) I think that to truly be able to connect with an audience you must empathize with them through that language and alcohol and some other drugs...well... at some point you can't speak or walk properly so doing art..
Cheers !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49