Art Mix-up Contest

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Link to the GIF: https://gph.is/2pLY3dt

This is my submission for the #artmixupcontest N. 4 :) First of all, I want to tell you a little bit about me:

My name is Angy, I'm a Visual Artist from Caracas, Venezuela. I have a project called Recorta y mueve (it means cut and move) that consists on utilizing paper money to make collage and GIF animations. This work is a proposal to question our preconceived notions and open ourselves to the idea that everything can be used as a material of play and strategy, even if it is paper money, something so deeply rooted to its conventional use.
Recorta y mueve was born inside a very difficult process of protests and civil insurrection here in Venezuela. In my creations, fragments of our social and economic reality are given a new function to confront ourselves with new possibilities. I strongly believe that those possibilities are related with the use of creativity and imagination, and for that reason I am committed to use my voice.

I was motivated to participate in this contest because of your passion for mixed media and creativity. I hope you like this, @lilyraabe thanks for the opportunity.

On this piece I mixed photography, digital collage and GIF animation. The process was like this:

  1. I took the picture
    gato y billete.jpg
  2. I opened it in Adobe Photoshop and make a cool mix –collage– with a GIF with clouds downloaded in giphy
    Captura de pantalla 2018-03-28 a las 20.18.48.png
  3. I made the animation frame by frame and edit the colors to give it a weird psychedelic vibe
    Captura de pantalla 2018-03-27 a las 16.54.56.png

You can see more of my work on my giphy channel and my blog
https://giphy.com/channel/angyrecorta
https://recortaymueve.tumblr.com/

All best!

Sort:  

Congratulations @angyabbruzzese! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34