Analyzing Art Part. 1 - Duane Michal's Bathroom Art

in #art7 years ago

When I'm out of inspiration (as I am now) and my paintbrushes feel heavy as lead, I seek motivation in the art of others. Today I stumbled on photographs by an American artist with the name of Duane Michals. I read that he's considered as one of the pioneers of the so-called staged photography. His images are the opposite of snapshots taken in the moment. He is more of a director than someone that depicts a natural situation. Many of the photographs consist of series or sequences of photographs organized around a particular theme. A sort of photographic short-stories for which what happens between and outside the picture is at least as important as what happens within it.

Michal's images exist in a place of displacement of meaning. A place where proportion and the order of things are slightly out of place: their meanings and values are slippery and queer. This is especially evident in "Things are Queer" - a series of nine photographs that immediately caught my eye. For every picture we see, we think that we now know and understand what we see, but in the next picture, our newly acquired knowledge is shattered. 

In the first picture we see a regular bathroom. In the next picture, a giant leg has suddenly stepped into it. Our sense of scale and proportions are challenged. The next picture is taken from a further distance. Here we see other objects that support the perception that the bathroom is small and that the man who now bends down to the floor is of normal human size. The next picture shows the same image again, but now as an illustration in a book. Simply mind blowing.

I can't help but feeling a bit jealous when I see these photographs, but they are most of all outstandingly inspiring. I hope you enjoyed them as much as I did!

Until next time,

Love, Angelina

Sort:  

Hi @angsteem didnt see any content from you for a while, glad to see you are still here.

I like this artwork a lot, it makes me wonder about the nature of reality, we the observer initially believe we are looking at a true record of a bathroom, we then find out this is a fiction novel, where the reality is created by the person reading the book, but that person, is just a fiction in a photo, the reality of which is actually in another bathroom, the staged bathroom itself only really then exising within our own minds as the ultimate observer. Unless we are not ultimate observers of course, and we are just a consruct within another observers mind.

Hi! Yes, I've been away for a while, but now I'm back :)

I couldn't have said it better myself. Very nice thoughts =)

Wow that's quite a unique series by Duane Michals. I liked how each image keeps you guessing until you see the next one. The story unfolds and then you are like 'oh wow that's cool!'. I also like the use of black and white as it keeps the mystery alive. Thanks for sharing @angsteem

Yes, I was myself very captivated by it.

Good work!! Feel free to check out some of my work as well. Steem on my friend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48