Australian Scarlet Robin digital painting. Step by Step.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Hi. Thanks for joining me. Today I wanted to show you a simple step by step digital painting using sketchbook pro and my Wacom cintiq companion 2. Here is the completed image.

sf A3 04JPG.jpg

Where to begin? First I start off with a very basic sketch of the bird in question from a good quality reference photo. I don't want a lot of detail at this stage as this is just my starting point.

sf A3 01JPG.jpg

Next I start to paint in very basic colors. Once again I am only after a base to build upon. So long as my proportions are reasonably close to accurate I am happy. 😀

sf A3 02JPG.jpg

Now the fun part begins! Building upon the base I paint in more detail using finer brushes for the feathers. It is important to notice the different shape and direction of the birds feathers as that will help to give you a more life like look. example : The feathers on the head are very small and have different directions depending on their position on the head, whereas the belly feathers mostly point down on along the body and are larger.

I also detail the eye, beak and start to work on the feet and the fence wire the bird is perched on.

sf A3 03JPG.jpg

Now the final touches. I finish the feet and the wire, I also decided to add a very simple background just to make the image pop a little. I keep it blurry so that it doesn't distract from the main feature, but I use green and yellow to give the impression of sunlight and green plants. One great feature of working with sketchbook pro is the advantage to work on different layers within an image. example : I can work on my subject and add a background later or subtract it if I desire.

sf A3 04JPG.jpg

Thanks for looking. If you have any questions please feel dree to ask.
BIG thank you to @mirrors for the feedback on previous posts.

Sort:  

Hi @andrewsmodels it's really nice to meet you!! Your post and art work are really awesome! I love that you created a bird! It's a beautiful bird at that! A friend posted a picture of one of our robins. Poor babe was hunkering down as it was anoter cold spring snowstorm.

Screenshot_20180413-053953.png

My daughter has taken to this digital imagry. She does animals too. Mainly horses & bunnies.

Your post and artwork again is really awesome. But, i love even more that i see new connections and relationships budding through the comments here!! That's so wonderful!!!! 😁👍🙌I am from Canada, otherwise i would definately get in on connecting with you all! Perhaps I will see you on the asapers discord channel. It's fun to be able to connect here too. Congratulations on having your post being selected by the @asapers!! That's super fun!! Wishing you all the best as you're out there cruising the steem. Have a wonderful day!! 🌹🌸

Hi! :-) Thanks for the lovely message. I love the photo. I will certainly keep an eye out for you on discord.

Wachahahahahahaah....see what i told you, @andrewsmodels? This is the way to go. And trust me you nailed it. You should mail me this one!!! lol.

I am recommending this one to @asapers. Hopefully it gets supported. And Just so you know i appreciate this, i am also personally re-steeming it.

Thank you. 😁 Shoot me an email at [email protected] and I may sneak you a copy 😀

Are you in any discord channel? I would recommend you join ups in some. They are very good places for networking and promoting your posts.

There is of course the @asapers channel, the link is https://discord.gg/xnAEyGX.

And the newbieresteemday discord channel, the link is https://discord.gg/3upaPY.

And also steemit greeters guild, link is https://discord.gg/urT8cS.

There is also minnowsupport, here you are able to submit a post after every 48 hours, and it is automatically upvoted.

You might also want to consider joining it. The link is https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

You will be able to catch me up in any of the them, but more easily in the @asapers discord.

Thanks for the send offer. Once in any of those discords, i will direct message you.

EDIT - One more thing. You could also consider using the tags asapers and/or newbieresteemday in your future posts.

Very nice work hard to believe it is a digital painting.

By any chance are you from Australia or do you just like Australian birds? :)

Hi. I am based in Melbourne :-) Are you from Australia as well?

Yes, my hubby and I are from Perth. Are you part of #teamaustralia yet? If not I suggest checking them and @choogirl out, she runs Team Australia, they are great at supporting each other and also have meet ups.

Hmmmm....some meeting here!

And @insideoutlet, these two-some! lol

Thanks for all the help :-) I will join discord soon!

Any time, @andrewsmodels, any time. I am glad some 'small' help came along. Keep posting those fine works, and you will meteor sooner than later

Congratulations @andrewsmodels, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 36

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44