Of Comic Cons, Steps and Consternation: A Quest for Magick #10

in #art6 years ago

Fellow Steemians,

I know it’s been awhile! 10 days to be exact since I’ve been on Steemit, and for that, I’m sorry! However, things have been really kinda crazy for me; the company I receive services from has been short-staffed, and even worse, shortchanging my care. I literally have no money now, so I’ve been stressing about that, and my latest inclusion workshop was canceled. Also, the trial on my speech recognition software is over, and I have to wait for an appointment with my technology OT (occupational therapist), to get a license for it.

It hasn’t been all bad though! I got to go to Toronto Comic Con, two weekends ago, for free! How you ask? Well, wouldn’t you like to know?! Due to my birthday falling on the same weekend as Fan-Expo, which is the largest con of the year in my neck of the woods, my amazingly awesome boyfriend got me a premium pass, which allows me free entry to all successive cons run by the same people that are in-charge of Fan Expo.

SPAWN Rough 4.png
Spawn, thus far!

At the con, I was wryly reminded to finish a print that I’m doing for Spawn, a cosplayer friend (no word of a lie, I’ve been procrastinating for a really long time on this particular print, because it’s just so freakin’ detailed, and I really didn’t want to draw his chains). I started working on it again, after much consternation, it’s turning out to be not half bad.

I had a really great time at Comic Con! I got to catch up with a few of my friends, meet some new people and I even got to meet John Wesley Shipp, who is the original Flash.

Spidey and Flash.jpg
Symbiote Spidey and I

JohnWesleyShipp.jpg
John Wesley Shipp - The Original Flash, among many other great roles

In my last post, I mentioned that ODSP is allowing me to have another income stream to help me afford expenses for my career as an artist. However, I don’t think I said that I had to open another bank account for the purpose of separating business from living expenses. I opened an account yesterday, so YAY me! :P This is great, because I got my first patron on Patreon, a week ago, and now I have a place to deposit their contributions.

In an earlier post I talked about starting a web design side business, but now I’ve been thinking and I’m going in a slightly different direction. Drawing the print of Spawn really reminded me of my love and passion for creating art, which is why I’m going to focus on the graphic design side of things instead, because that’s really where my talents and comfort lie. So, if you are looking for anything of that nature, let me know! :)

‘Til next time!

Oh crap!! I forgot to add that the cowl in my pictures is brand new, what do you all think of it?

Made by the ever so talented Andrew Speranza from A.S. Creations. Check him out on Instagram: @a.s_creations

Andrew and Andre.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by andrecampbell77 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48