Wood burning PORTRAIT - Photos + Video

in #art8 years ago (edited)

EDIT: Who wants to be the next person that I will wood burn? Leave a comment and I will use random generator to choose the person.

I always loved to challenge myself, to go a step further. This is one of those times; today I made my first portrait on wood. Inspired by all the portraits on #Steemit I decided to try one myself.
I picked Ned to be my subject. I downloaded the photo that I'm sure everybody knows, as reference. I altered the photo to show the main lines which I will burn. The rest of the photo and the shadows will be freehand.

The first step is to draw the outline. I printed the image to fit my wood piece and traced the main lines. I have drawn portraits on paper before but this is much harder than I thought.

This is what I achieved in two hours.
I think I made his lips fuller, but forgive me, it's me first one.

This is I think midway to the process. It took a total of seven hours to burn the whole portrait. I only used one tip, shaped like a leaf. It works better with shading than the other tips that I have used so far.

A close up with my signature; you can better see the wood fibers. And below the final piece.

Almost forgot, here is the video, 7x the speed; I cut some parts out to make it shorter. I hope you enjoy it!
If you missed my latest pyrography art check it out here @anca3drandom

Sort:  

Thats awesome! What did you actually use to burn the wood? Good job!

Wow this is an old post. Back then I was using a pyrography pen. It's a pen that you just plug it in. And it had different types of tips.

A beautiful rendition of our CEO Handsome Ned.

I'm glad that you approve.

Very beautiful art! It's just amazing the details of it! Keep up the good work!

Thank you! I will definitely do more portraits :)

i love how it has that Victorian photo feel to it. amazing work as usual :D

Yes. Wood burning adds some nice effects.Thank you :)

So @anca3drandom, what is it like to actually be talented ? Amazing.
Put on a smile in that selfie though, or don't . :)

If I was able to create something like that, I'd be smiling all day long.

ha ha... I don't really like to take photos of myself. I'll try harder next time :) thank you for the compliments!

Wow, this is really skilled work I'm blown away by this. It's burned on my mind ;D
Well done friend, another fantastic post by a very talented lady!

:) You always know how to say the right words! Glad to share steemit with another talented lady. You are doing quite well yourself...relaxing at the beach :)

Your attention to detail is a wonderful thing to watch. Thank you.

I tried my best. It's hard not to criticize yourself when you see the little imperfections.

I know all about that, artists have to care about the details. Their art is better for it.

@peacekeeper thank you. Prepare your photos in case you hit the jackpot :)

I would love to know how to make such a beautiful art, just amazing. I lost my words, but I will come back later to write another comment.Love it.

Thank you for the kind words. It is something different indeed. You can't afford to make many mistakes.

Thank you Marius. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65